Wales' summer squad in full as four uncapped players called up and Six Nations stars out

Josh Hathaway of Gloucester scores
-Credit: (Image: Getty Images)

Try-scoring sensation Josh Hathaway is one of four uncapped players named in a 36-man Wales training squad ahead of summer Tests against South Africa and Australia, while there are also recalls for Liam Williams and Cory Hill.

Cardiff scrum-half Ellis Bevan, utility back Jacob Beetham and Ospreys wing Keelan Giles are the other uncapped players in a squad, which features only one specialist fly-half in Sam Costelow with Ben Thomas able to cover. Warren Gatland has also opted to rest Cardiff wing Josh Adams, Scarlets hooker Ryan Elias and Racing 92 lock Will Rowlands.

Wales' Rugby World Cup co-captains Jac Morgan and Dewi Lake return to the squad, although Gatland has not yet named a skipper. You can follow Warren Gatland's press conference live here.

SIGN UP: Get the new exclusive Inside Welsh rugby newsletter for full insight into what's really going on around all the big issues. This special offer will get you full access for the entire year for just £10 instead of £40.

Ben Carter, Taine Plumtree and Christ Tshiunza also return for Wales having missed the Guinness Six Nations due to injury. There are also recalls for hooker Sam Parry, tighthead prop Henry Thomas, Screech along with Williams, in a Wales squad that has an average age of 25.

Notable omissions include Alex Mann, James Botham and Ioan Lloyd who all figured during the Six Nations. Wales face South Africa at Twickenham in an out of window Test match before embarking on a two-Test tour of Australia which includes an uncapped match against the Queensland Reds.

An updated squad of 34 players will be announced to tour Australia after facing the Springboks. The selection of Gloucester wing Josh Hathaway, who can also cover full-back and outside-half, will come as a huge boost to Gatland given the 20-year-old is also English qualified.

Wales' clash with South Africa falls outside of World Rugby's designated international window meaning Gatland is unable to select any English or French based players. Wales are facing a second-row crisis for the South African Test match which has resulted in a call-up for Dragons lock Screech, who won his only cap as a late replacement against Argentina in 2021, and Hill.

“We’ve selected a bigger squad because we don’t have the English club-based players available for the South Africa match," said Gatland "So we will be reducing the squad from 36 to 34 players for Australia.

“I think everyone appreciates and realises we’re building towards 2027. There were moments during the Six Nations where we played some really good rugby and put the opposition teams under some pressure, but we probably weren’t accurate enough.

“It’s about playing for longer periods, putting halves together and putting an 80-minute performance together which ultimately gives you confidence and gives you that opportunity to win games.

“We need to build on that. We need to keep working hard. We’ve got some experience to come back into the squad and some exciting players which is good.

“The big focus for us is about our game management and to get better with that. But we also want to improve our collision dominance whether that’s attack or defence and create some more depth and competition within the squad.”


Forwards (22)

Corey Domachowski (Cardiff Rugby / Caerdydd – 10 caps)
Kemsley Mathias (Scarlets – 2 caps)
Gareth Thomas (Ospreys / Gweilch – 30 caps)
Elliot Dee (Dragons / Dreigiau – 51 caps)
Dewi Lake (Ospreys / Gweilch – 12 caps)
Evan Lloyd (Cardiff Rugby – 2 caps)
Sam Parry (Ospreys / Gweilch – 7 caps)
Keiron Assiratti (Cardiff Rugby / Caerdydd – 6 caps)
Archie Griffin (Bath Rugby – 1 cap)
Dillon Lewis (Harlequins – 57 caps)
Harri O’Connor (Scarlets – 1 cap)
Henry Thomas (Castres Olympique – 4 caps)
Ben Carter (Dragons / Dreigiau – 11 caps)
Cory Hill (Secom Rugguts – 32 caps)
Dafydd Jenkins (Exeter Chiefs / Caerwysg – 17 caps)
Matthew Screech (Dragons / Dreigiau – 1 cap)
Christ Tshiunza (Exeter Chiefs / Caerwysg – 10 caps)
Mackenzie Martin (Cardiff Rugby / Caerdydd – 3 caps)
Jac Morgan (Ospreys / Gweilch – 15 caps)
Taine Plumtree (Scarlets – 2 caps)
Tommy Reffell (Leicester Tigers / Caerlŷr – 18 caps)
Aaron Wainwright (Dragons / Dreigiau – 48 caps)

Backs (14)

Ellis Bevan (Cardiff Rugby / Caerdydd – uncapped / heb gap)
Gareth Davies (Scarlets – 76 caps)
Kieran Hardy (Scarlets – 21 caps)
Sam Costelow (Scarlets – 12 caps)
Mason Grady (Cardiff Rugby / Caerdydd – 11 caps)
Ben Thomas (Cardiff Rugby / Caerdydd – 2 caps)
Nick Tompkins (Saracens / Saraseniaid – 36 caps)
Owen Watkin (Ospreys / Gweilch – 38 caps)
Rio Dyer (Dragons / Dreigiau – 19 caps)
Keelan Giles (Ospreys / Gweilch – uncapped / heb gap)
Josh Hathaway (Gloucester Rugby / Caerloyw – uncapped / heb gap)
Liam Williams (Kubota Spears – 89 caps)
Jacob Beetham (Cardiff Rugby / Caerdydd – uncapped / heb gap)
Cameron Winnett (Cardiff Rugby / Caerdydd – 5 caps)