Wayne Rooney making Euro 2024 debut for the BBC tonight

Plymouth Argyle boss Wayne Rooney will be one of the studio guests for BBC One's live coverage of the Euro 2024 clash between the Netherlands and France this evening (Friday).

It is the first time the 38-year-old, who was appointed as the Pilgrims' head coach on May 25, will have featured as a pundit for the BBC during the tournament in Germany. The broadcast starts at 7.30pm, with Gary Lineker hosting the programme.

Joining Rooney as a studio guest will be another former England striker, Alan Shearer, plus ex-Spain international midfielder Cesc Fabregas.

Read More: Argyle midfielder Adam Forshaw will have one big wish for next season

You can read more of our Argyle stories from Plymouth Live by clicking HERE

Following England's disappointing performance in a 1-1 draw with Denmark in Frankfurt yesterday, Rooney, Shearer and Fabregas are likely to give their views on Gareth Southgate's side, in addition to analysing the Group D game between the Netherlands and France.

The Dutch began the tournament with a 2-1 defeat of Poland while France won their opening match 1-0 against Austria.

Rooney is not the only boss of a Championship club to be featuring as a studio guest during Euro 2024. Sheffield Wednesday's German-born manager Danny Rohl has been appearing regularly for ITV.

The official announcement of Rooney's appointment by Argyle came shortly before he was part of BBC One's live coverage of the FA Cup final between Manchester United and Manchester City last month.

It is 20 years ago since Rooney played for England at Euro 2004 and suffered a broken foot during the quarter-final against host nation Portgual, which the Three Lions went on lose 6-5 on penalties following a 2-2 draw after extra-time.

Argyle's players will report for the start of pre-season training on Tuesday, July 2, ahead of the 2024/25 Championship campaign, which begins on the weekend of 9-11.

Rooney has brought in Pete Shuttleworth as his assistant head coach to work alongside the existing coaching staff of Kevin Nancekivell, Simon Ireland and Darryl Flahavan.