All the winners from the 2017 Silwerskerm Film Festival

All the winners from the 2017 Silwerskerm Film Festival

Cape Town - The annual Silwerskerm Film Festival came to a glamorous end on Saturday night during a gala award ceremony in Camps Bay.

The festival, which this year showcased 65 local films, took place from 23 to 26 August at the Bay Hotel in Cape Town. 

Here’s a full list of all the winners from this year’s festival:

Short and short-short films

Best director: Short film – 12 minutes

Harold Holscher – Langsaan

Best script: Short film – 12 minutes

Versnel – Dian Weys

Best editing: Short film 

Skoon – Johan Prinsloo

Best director: Short film – 24 minutes

Nico Scheepers – Die Maan val Bewusteloos

Best script: Short film – 24 minutes

Soldaat – Amy Jephta

Best actor: Short film

Carel Nel – Slaaf

Best actress: Short film 

June van Merch – Vossie vergas homself

Best short film – 12 minutes


Best short film – 24 minutes


Full length films 

Best actor

Bennie Fourie – Vuil Wasgoed

Best supporting actor

Beer Adriaanse – Wonderlus

Best actress

Lea Vivier – Wonderlus

Best supporting actress

June van Merch – Raaiselkind

Best sound design and original music 

Vuil Wasgoed – Janno Muller en Benjamin Willem

Best script

Wonderlus – Johan Cronje

Best production design

Vuil Wasgoed – Merishen Wessels

Best cinematography

Willie Nel – Meerkat Maantuig

Best editing

Vuil Wasgoed – Quinn Lubbe

Best director

Morné du Toit – Vuil Wasgoed

Best film


WATCH: The 2017 Silwerskerm Film Festival Awards

For all the latest local and international movie news join Channel24 Movies on Facebook.