Wrestling: Wapakoneta wins home invite

Jan. 21—WAPAKONETA — Longtime Wapakoneta wrestling coach Jason Rostorfer had a feeling it was going to be a battle to the very end at Saturday's Wapakoneta Invitational.

It played out the way Rostorfer thought.

Wapakoneta sent seven wrestlers to their respective weight-class finals on Saturday. There are 14 total weight classes.

The Redskins came away with four champions, which proved to be just enough to earn themselves the team title.

Wapakoneta ended the day with 242 points and just edged out Vandalia-Butler, who scored 238 points. Celina was a distant third (168). Blissfield (Mich., 148.5) and Van Wert (135) rounded out the top five squads in a field of 13 teams.

Winning individual titles for Wapakoneta on Saturday were Zane Russell (106-pound weight class), Wyatt Buell (175), Brody Presar (190) and Jace Knous (215).

Buell was picked by the coaches as the most valuable wrestler of Saturday's invitational.

"We had seven guys in the championship matches," Rostorfer said. "That's half our team. So, that's pretty good. We just wished we could have gotten a few more wins in the finals.

"It came down to Brody Presar and Jace Knous getting pins (in their championship matches). That's what put us over the top (for the team title)."

In the finals of the 190-pound weight class, Presar pinned Vandalia-Butler's James Hodge late in the third period.

In the championship bout at 215, Knous pinned Holland Springfield's Joey Keller just one minute and eight seconds into the match.

Presar (15-5), a sophomore, knew he needed to put the pressure on his opponent to record the win.

"I just had to keep pushing. That was a tough kid. ... It (Vandalia-Butler) is a good team. I just had to keep going, and keep fighting," Presar said.

Knous, who is coming back from a football injury, was pleased at his results on Saturday.

"I hurt my knee in football, and I just got back," Knous (14-1) said. "I've been working my tail off, trying to get back. It feels great to get a win (in the finals) here today."

Last season as a junior, Knous placed seventh in the 190-pound weight class at the Division II state tournament.

At 106 pounds, Wapakoneta's Russell was pleased with his performance on Saturday but admitted that he needed to work on some things. Russell recorded an 11-7 decision over Blissfield's Jude Rosas in the finals.

"It was off the hitch there at the end (in the finals match)," Russell said. "I'll have to fix it up. I can't wait for tournament time. ... I'm excited."

Wapakoneta's Buell (32-3) recorded a 5-0 decision over Celina's Luke Lazarich in the 175-pound finals match.

"Overall, I felt pretty good, coming in today," Buell said. "I had it scoped out that I wanted to be at the top of the (awards) podium. ... So, I did that. I'm happy with the way I performed today."

Wapakoneta junior Caden Mellott (33-2) finished in the runner-up spot at 120 on Saturday.

Earlier in the day, Mellott recorded his 100th career victory. Last season, Mellott placed sixth at 113 at the Division II state tournament.

"Overall, I thought we wrestled really well," Rostorfer said. "We had some other guys place third and fifth, so it was a good team effort today."

Celina's Greber shines

Celina's Zach Greber notched the title at 150 on Saturday.

In his championship match, Greber recorded a 12-3 major decision over Napoleon's Ignacio Corona. Greber's win over Corona improved his record to 30-2.

Last season, Greber was a Division II district alternate. This season, Greber wants to take it to the next level.

"Hopefully, this year I can place (top four) at districts and go to state. That's what I want," Greber said.

Other winners

Other champions on Saturday included Blissfield's Gage Rothman (132), Holland Springfield's Krew Akenberger (285), Napoleon's Harrison Bohls (113), Vandalia-Butler's Jadon Gyan (120), Yhantg Irwin (126), A.J. Turner (138), Joey Love (144), Braylen Crump (157) and Jace Love (165).

TEAM SCORES: 1. Wapakoneta 242, 2. Vandalia-Butler 238, 3. Celina 168, 4. Blissfield (Mich.) 148.5, 5. Van Wert 135, 6. Napoleon 131, 7. Connor (Ky.) 120, 8. Bryan 101.5, 9. Holland Springfield 72, 10. Sandusky 58. 11. Antwerp 55. 12. Delphos Jefferson 29, 13. Lima Senior 21


106: 1. Zane Russell (WAP), 2. Jude Rosas (BLI), 3. Owen Bates (VWE), 4. Keaton Dicken (CON)

113: 1. Harrison Bohls (NAP), 2. Clayton Badida (CON), 3. Joaquin Estrada (VWE), 4. Kaleb Krogman (CEL)

120: 1. Jadon Gyan (VBU), 2. Caden Mellott (WAP), 3. Maalik Washington (CON), 4. Triston Fellows (NAP)

126: 1. Yhantg Irwin (VBU), 2. Aaren King (CEL), 3. Logan Miller (DJE), 4. Austin McCombs (CON)

132: 1. Gage Rotham (BLI), 2. Gavin Ridenour (WAP), 3. Cordion Abernathy (CON), 4. Louden Maxwell (VBU)

138: 1. A.J. Turner (VBU), 2. Donnell Bush (BRY), 3. Owen Beard (NAP), 4. Max Swihart (NAP)

144: 1. Joey Love (VBU), 2. Briggs Wallace (VWE), 3. Collin Rachel (BRY), 4. Anthony Mingonie (BLI)

150: 1. Zach Greber (CEL), 2. Ignacio Corona (NAP), 3. Skyler Octaviano (ANT), 4. Jesse van Doesburg (VBU)

157: 1. Braylen Crump (VBU), 2. Carver Harris (CEL), 3. Nathan Seth (CON), 4. Miles Doster (ANT)

165: 1. Jace Love (VBU), 2. Reece Schnarre (WAP), 3. Wes Gerber (CEL), 4. William Apple (NAP)

175: 1. Wyatt Buell (WAP), 2. Luke Lazarich (CEL), 3. Taylin Irwin (VBU), 4. Dameon Wolfe (BRY)

190: 1. Brody Presar (WAP), 2. James Hodge (VBU), 3. Josh Sweeney (CEL), 4. Ethan Hilliard (BLI)

215: 1. Jace Knous (WAP), 2. Joey Keller (SPR), 3. Jaydon Dennis (BRY), 4. Carter Ly (CEL)

285: 1. Krew Akenberger (SPR), 2. Breese Bollenbacher VWE), 3. Matthew Houtiker (BLI), 4. Johnny Carnes (WAP)