The 9 London constituencies that stayed loyal to the Tories as party's seats are cut in half

-Credit: (Image: Nicola Tree/Getty Images)
-Credit: (Image: Nicola Tree/Getty Images)

It was a calamitous night for Rishi Sunak's Conservatives, not only in defeat to the next prime minister, Keir Starmer, but the loss of more than half its London seats in one fell swoop. After picking up 21 seats in 2019, with 32 per cent of the vote, the beleaguered party ended Thursday's election with just nine seats across the city, with 21 per cent of the vote.

There were big scalps for Labour across the city, with former cabinet minister Theresa Villiers losing Chipping Barnet for the first time, and Boris Johnson and Margaret Thatcher's old seats, in Uxbridge and Finchley, both falling to Labour. Tory Minister for London, Greg Hands, also lost his seat in Chelsea and Fulham, and Cities of London and Westminster turned red for the first time its history.

Inner London boroughs firmly rejected the Conservatives, who came behind the Greens in terms of vote share at 13.6 per cent to 13.4 per cent. Outer London boroughs were more favourable, giving the Tories 24.6 per cent of the overall vote, but still far behind Labour's 39 per cent. The Reform party picked up 10.5 per cent of those votes, repeating the picture seen across the country on Friday morning.

READ MORE: Full list of London General Election results for every constituency

Former policing minister Chris Philp held his Croydon South seat and might be vying for the leadership -Credit:Harrison Galliven
Former policing minister Chris Philp held his Croydon South seat and might be vying for the leadership -Credit:Harrison Galliven

Of those Conservatives who held onto a seat in London, ex-party leader, Iain Duncan Smith, will be most relieved. After looking likely to lose his seat in Chingford and Woodford Green, the former Work and Pensions Secretary won by around 5,000 votes against Labour opponent Shama Tatler, whose vote share was eaten away by Faiza Shaheen, the former Labour candidate who was expelled over social media posts about Israel.

Former policing minister Chris Philp retained his seat in an unexpected, but comfortable, victory in Croydon South, beating the Labour hopeful by over 3,000 votes. Mr Philp has already hinted at a Tory leadership bid, telling reporters: “I haven’t even thought about that yet, let’s just see how the dust settles. But who knows?”

In Hornchurch and Upminster it was not Labour but Reform who pushed the Tories closest. Conservative winner Julia Lopez took home over 15,000 votes with Reform on around 13,300, and Labour only around 400 votes behind.

Elsewhere the Tories clung onto seats with David Simmonds winning in Ruislip, Northwood and Pinner; Bob Blackman in Harrow East; Andrew Rosindell in Romford; Peter Fortune in Bromley and Biggin Hill; Gareth Bacon in Orpington; and Louie French in Old Bexley and Sidcup. In South West London, it was all yellow as the Liberal Democrats stormed to victory in six seats on sizeable margins.

Full list of Conservative seats in London

Bromley and Biggin Hill

  • Reform UK - Alan Cook

  • Conservative - Peter Fortune - WINNER

  • Liberal Democrat - Julie Ireland

  • Climate Party - Karen Miller

  • Labour - Oana Olaru-Holmes

  • Green - Caroline Sandes

Chingford and Woodford Green

  • Green - Chris Brody

  • Conservative - Iain Duncan Smith - WINNER

  • Liberal Democrat - Josh Hadley

  • Reform UK - Paul Luggeri

  • Independent - Faiza Shaheen

  • Labour - Shama Tatler

Croydon South

  • Reform UK - Bob Bromley

  • Green - Elaine Garrod

  • Liberal Democrat - Richard Howard

  • Workers Party of Britain - Kulsum Hussin

  • Conservative - Chris Philp - WINNER

  • Independent - Mark Samuel

  • Labour - Ben Taylor

Harrow East

  • Liberal Democrat - Reeten Banerji

  • Conservative - Bob Blackman - WINNER

  • Reform UK - Roger Clark

  • Independent - Sabira Lakha

  • Green - Seb Newsam

  • Workers Party of Britain - Sarajulhaq Parwani

  • Labour - Primesh Patel

Hornchurch and Upminster

  • Labour - Sunny Brar

  • Green - Melanie Collins

  • Independent - David Durant

  • Conservative - Julia Lopez - WINNER

  • Reform UK - Nick Palmer

  • Liberal Democrat - Ian Sanderson

Old Bexley and Sidcup

  • Green - Brad Davies

  • Reform UK - Maxine Fothergill

  • Conservative - Louie French - WINNER

  • Liberal Democrat - Adrian Hyyrylainen-Trett

  • Labour - Edward Jones

  • Independent - Andrew Still

  • Rejoin EU - Laurent Williams


  • Conservative - Gareth Bacon - WINNER

  • Social Democratic Party - John Bright

  • Liberal Democrat - Graeme Casey

  • Reform UK - Mark James

  • Green - Seamus McCauley

  • Labour - Ju Owens


  • Labour - Andrew Achilleos

  • English Constitution Party - Colin Birch

  • Liberal Democrat - Thomas Clarke

  • Green - David Hughes

  • Reform UK - Philip Hyde

  • Workers Party of Britain - Zhafaran Qayum

  • Conservative - Andrew Rosindell - WINNER

Ruislip, Northwood and Pinner

  • Liberal Democrat - Jonathan Banks

  • Labour - Tony Gill

  • Green - Jess Lee

  • Reform UK - Ian Price

  • Conservative - David Simmonds - WINNER

You can follow our live blog here for all the latest updates from London and beyond.

Got a story we should cover? Please email or WhatsApp 07580255582