Area students are Academic All-Stars

May 10—INDIANAPOLIS — Now in its 38th year, 40 high school seniors from throughout Indiana have been named 2024 Indiana Academic All-Stars, a program of the Indiana Association of School Principals (IASP). In addition, 50 other students were recognized as Academic All-Star Regional Honorees.

The students were selected from a field of 281 outstanding nominees from the state's private and public accredited schools.

Academic All-Star distinction recognizes seniors who excel in the classroom first and foremost, but who also are actively involved in their schools and communities, and take on leadership roles in those activities.

The program is produced by the Indiana Association of School Principals, and sponsored by Purdue University. Additional support is provided by Inter-State Studio.

The IASP Indiana Academic All-Stars program salutes academic excellence in the same manner that student athletes traditionally are honored. By providing a showcase for academically talented seniors, the sponsoring organizations hope to accomplish the following objectives:

▪ Give academic achievement the prestige it deserves;

▪ Motivate students to recognize the value of academic excellence;

▪ Provide students with an incentive for academic achievement, and

▪ Promote a positive image of Indiana's young people.

Each public and private high school accredited by the Indiana Department of Education may nominate one senior for consideration as an Indiana Academic All-Star.

From these nominees, a selection committee chose the Regional winners (representing five regions in Indiana) and the 40 Indiana Academic All-Stars.

Selection of the school's nominee is based upon the following considerations:

▪ Student transcript, with a focus on Advanced Placement, Dual Credit, International Baccalaureate,

and Advanced College Placement classes taken/grades received.

▪ Academic achievements and honors, academic courses and academic extracurricular activities.

▪ Other extracurricular activities, community service and leadership qualities.

The 2024 Indiana Academic All-Stars include:

Megan Batta, Batesville High School

Tyler Flynn, Blue River Valley Jr/Sr High School, New Castle

The 2024 Regional Academic All-Stars include:

Wyatt Clifford, Greensburg Community High School

Bella Matney, Shelbyville High School

Alexandra Osburn, Columbus North High School

Carter Snepp, Southwestern Jr/Sr High School, Shelbyville

About the Indiana Association of School Principals

The Indiana Association of School Principals leads in the advocacy and support of all principals in their commitment to every child.

The Department of Student Programs hosts 11 different academic competitions for students in grades 4 to 12, as well as a Martin Luther King Jr. essay contest, the Academic All-Stars Program, and the Indiana Cheer Championship.

Annually, over 30,000 students are involved in Department of Student Programs sponsored events.

To learn more about the Indiana Association of School Principals and the Department of Student Programs, visit

Information provided — Information provided