Biden awards Presidential Medal of Freedom to Pelosi, Gore, 17 others: Watch live

President Biden on Friday afternoon will present the Presidential Medal of Freedom to 19 people of diverse backgrounds, with actions and achievements spanning the better part of a century.

Among those receiving this highest of civilian honors are two prominent figures from the Civil Rights movement: Clarence B. Jones, a lawyer and activist who co-wrote Martin Luther King’s “I have a dream” speech, and Medgar Evers, who was murdered while working to end segregation in Mississippi.

Several honorees have known and worked with Biden. Among these are Rep. Jim Clyburn (D-S.C.), former Speaker Nancy Pelosi (D-Calif.), former senator, secretary of State and climate envoy John Kerry and former Vice President Al Gore.

Other recipients range from actor Michelle Yeoh to astronomer Jane Rigby.

The ceremony is scheduled to begin at 4:30 p.m. EDT.

Watch the live video above.

For the latest news, weather, sports, and streaming video, head to The Hill.