Blyth and Ashington candidates for the General Election 2024

Blyth's beach huts on a sunny spring morning
-Credit: (Image: Newcastle Chronicle)

Major boundary changes in Northumberland have created a new seat that takes its name from the country’s two largest towns.

Most of the seat is the former Wansbeck constituency, a more urban part of Northumberland which has a notable mining past. That seat had been held by Labour since it was created in 1983, with former union official Ian Lavery winning it for a fourth time in 2019, though with a much reduced majority.

Mr Lavery’s main opponent is likely to be Conservative candidate Maureen Levy, wife of outgoing Blyth Valley MP Ian Levy, who is standing in another newly created seat in the county after his surprise win in 2019. Prime Minister Rishi Sunak has been a high-profile visitor to the seat in the early days of the campaign.

Read more: Prime Minister defends record on visit to Northumberland

Go here for more news about the General Election 2024

Here are the Blyth and Ashington candidates for the General Election in 2024:

Ian Lavery - Labour

Maureen Levy - Conservative

Steve Leyland - Green

Mark Peart - Reform

Stephen Psallidas - Liberal Democrat