Blyth and Ashington general election results 2024 in full

Blyth's colourful beach huts
-Credit: (Image: drhfoto - Fotolia)

Voters in Blyth and Ashington have been going to the polls in the general election 2024 to choose their new MP. Major boundary changes in Northumberland have created a new seat that takes its name from the country’s two largest towns.

Most of the seat is the former Wansbeck constituency, which has been held by Labour since it was created in 1983. Former union official Ian Lavery has won it for a fifth time in 2024, with a majority of over 9,000.

Also vying for the seat was Conservative candidate Maureen Levy, wife of outgoing Blyth Valley MP Ian Levy, who is standing in another newly created seat after his win in 2019.

Read more: North East general election results live

Polls closed in the general election 2024 at 10pm on Thursday, July 4, with counts taking place overnight. Results from across the UK are expected in the early hours of Friday morning, with Blyth and Ashington declaring shortly after 11.30pm.

Below are the results for each candidate in Blyth and Ashington in full:

Ian Lavery - Labour, 20,030

Maureen Levy - Conservative, 6,121

Steve Leyland - Green, 1,960

Mark Peart - Reform 10,857

Stephen Psallidas - Liberal Democrat, 1,433

You can find all the results and reaction on our dedicated general election results page here.

All the results for the Blyth and Ashington constituency, and across the UK as they are announced, are in the interactive widget below. This will update once each count has been declared with who won the seat and how many votes each candidate received.