Brendan Rodgers PFA award snub leaves Celtic hero baffled at 'bizarre' Manager of the Year omission

John Hartson reckons it’s “bizarre” Celtic has been snubbed for the PFA Scotland manager of the year award.

Kilmarnock’s Derek McInnes leads the nominees, along with Dundee’s Tony Docherty and John McGlynn at Falkirk. Celtic legend Hartson admitted the Hoops haven’t been firing on all cylinders this season. But the Parkhead manager is still in the running for a dream Premiership and Scottish Cup Double – despite dealing with high-profile departures. Rodgers is absent from the PFA shortlist along with Rangers boss Philippe Clement – who may end up with a TREBLE.

It’s the first time neither a Celtic nor a Rangers boss has made the shortlist in five years. Hartson hailed the three men in the fight – but he felt Rodgers has a case for being in there. The ex-Celt said: “I am surprised by that. OK, it’s not been a scintillating season like he’s had before, like the season where they were completely unbeaten.

“And I know they can’t win the Treble. But Celtic lost a few players in the summer and I don’t think the recruitment was great in January. But if he wins the league in his first season back I think that’s a huge achievement.

“If you think of the job Philippe Clement has done, they have lost one game in 19 and been on a terrific run. The fact is they have dropped five points in two games recently against Ross County and Dundee.

“It has been that type of season, nobody has really owned it. I am a little bit surprised that he is not in the running. I think it is a bit bizarre.” Hartson is still impressed with the shortlist despite Rodgers and Clement being omitted.

He said: “Derek McInnes has done an excellent job at Kilmarnock, they have taken three results off Celtic this season. Tony Doc as well has done a terrific job at Dundee to get top six. It is nothing against them.”

Falkirk’s McGlynn could hardly be overlooked, given the runaway champions are one game away from an undefeated season. It means a non-Old Firm manager winning the trophy for the first time since Steve Clarke in 2019. In the SWPL meanwhile, Rangers’ Jo Potter, Partick Thistle’s Brian Graham and Hibs’ Grant Scott are up for the award.