The British Soap Awards 2022: Who is nominated? Who is hosting? When are they on TV?

Phillip Schofield hosts the awards. (ITV)
Phillip Schofield hosts The British Soap Awards. (ITV)

The British Soap Awards makes its long-awaited return on Saturday after two years of COVID cancellations.

It's the glitziest night in soapland, when our favourite soap stars cast aside their alter egos to glam up for the red carpet - but who is in the running for a trophy and what are the categories?

Read more: EastEnders' Emma Barton admits she was 'hanging by a thread' without work

Here's all you need to know about the awards shortlist and how you can watch the winners.

When is The British Soap Awards on TV?

It's been a long wait for soap fans to see their favourite shows and stars recognised - the awards ceremony has been off air for the last two years because of COVID restrictions.

However, the awards make a triumphant return on Saturday, 11 June when they'll air on ITV from 8pm.

Traditionally, the ceremony takes turns being hosted in London or Manchester in recognition of where the soaps are set, and this year it's London's turn as the Hackney Empire welcomes stars of the small screen to celebrate.

Who is hosting The British Soap Awards 2022?

Phillip Schofield
Phillip Schofield is back to host. (ITV)

ITV favourite Phillip Schofield will front the awards and introduce the categories on the night.

The show is in safe hands as experienced live TV presenter Schofield has been the host since 2006 and worked solo since 2009, having co-hosted from 2006 to 2008 with his former This Morning colleague Fern Britton.

Read more: Every This Morning presenter over the years

Previous hosts have included Richard Madeley and Judy Finnigan, Matthew Kelly, Melanie Sykes and Des O'Connor, and Paul O'Grady.

Who is nominated at The British Soap Awards 2022?

The big four UK soaps. (BBC/C4/ITV)
Soap fans will see their favourite shows recognised. (BBC/C4/ITV)

The awards are split into viewer voted categories, with a last chance to vote for your favourite soaps and stars at, and panel voted categories decided by industry experts.

Recipients of two other awards will be announced on the night - the Outstanding Achievement Award and the Tony Warren Award.

Viewer Voted Categories

Best British Soap

Best Leading Performer

Sally Carman in Coronation Street. (ITV)
Sally Carman in Coronation Street. (ITV)
  • Sally Carman (Abi Webster) – Coronation Street

  • Gillian Wright (Jean Slater) - EastEnders

  • Linda Henry (Shirley Carter) - EastEnders

  • Paige Sandhu (Meena Jutla) - Emmerdale

  • Mark Charnock (Marlon Dingle) - Emmerdale

Best Family

  • The Alahans – Coronation Street

  • The Carters – EastEnders

  • The Dingles – Emmerdale

  • The McQueens - Hollyoaks

Read more: Netflix's Keep Sweet: Pray and Obey - who is Warren Jeffs?

Panel Voted Categories

Villain of the Year

Paige Sandhu as Emmerdale villain Meena Jutla. (ITV)
Paige Sandhu as Emmerdale villain Meena Jutla. (ITV)
  • Maximus Evans (Corey Brent) – Coronation Street

  • Laura White (Dr Princess Buchanan) – Doctors

  • Toby-Alexander Smith (Gray Atkins) – EastEnders

  • Paige Sandhu (Meena Jutla) – Emmerdale

  • Rhiannon Clements (Summer Ranger) - Hollyoaks

Best Comedy Performer

  • Jane Hazelgrove (Bernie Winter) – Coronation Street

  • Sarah Moyle (Valerie Pitman) – Doctors

  • Tameka Empson (Kim Fox) – EastEnders

  • Lisa Riley (Mandy Dingle) – Emmerdale

  • Chelsee Healey (Goldie McQueen) - Hollyoaks

Best Newcomer

  • Paddy Bever (Max Turner) – Coronation Street

  • Ross McLaren (Luca McIntyre) – Doctors

  • Ross Boatman (Harvey Monroe) – EastEnders

  • Darcy Grey (Marcus Dean) – Emmerdale

  • Matthew James-Bailey (Ethan Williams) - Hollyoaks

Read more: Neighbours hits new heights ahead of imminent finale

Best Storyline

Gillian Wright plays Jean Slater in EastEnders. (BBC)
Gillian Wright plays Jean Slater in EastEnders. (BBC)
  • Coronation Street - Hate Crime

Harry Visioni (Seb Franklin), Mollie Gallagher (Nina Lucas), Sally Carman (Abi Webster), David Neilson (Roy Cropper), Millie Gibson (Kelly Neelan), Maximus Evans (Corey Brent).

  • Doctors - Bear and his mother encounter racism at St Phil’s Hospital

Dex Lee (Bear Sylvester), Angela Wynter (Makeda Sylvester), Laura Bayston (Nurse Cathy Jenkins).

  • EastEnders - Jean’s Bipolar

Gillian Wright (Jean Slater), Lacey Turner (Stacey Slater), Ross Boatman (Harvey Monroe), Jessie Wallace (Kat Slater), James Bye (Martin Fowler).

  • Emmerdale - Meena Serial Killer

Paige Sandhu (Meena Jutla).

  • Hollyoaks - Misbah’s Historic Rape

Harvey Virdi (Misbah Maalik).

Best Single Episode

  • Coronation Street – Flashback

  • Doctors – Three Consultations and a Funeral

  • EastEnders – Jean in Southend

  • Emmerdale – Marlon’s stroke

  • Hollyoaks – Out of Time

Best Dramatic Performance

  • Sally Carman (Abi Webster) – Coronation Street

  • Dex Lee (Bear Sylvester) – Doctors

  • Gillian Wright (Jean Slater) – EastEnders

  • Mark Charnock (Marlon Dingle) – Emmerdale

  • Harvey Virdi (Misbah Maalik) - Hollyoaks

Best On-Screen Partnership

  • David Neilson and Mollie Gallagher (Roy Cropper and Nina Lucas) – Coronation Street

  • Chris Walker and Jan Pearson (Rob Hollins and Karen Hollins) – Doctors

  • Lacey Turner and Gillian Wright (Stacey Slater and Jean Slater) – EastEnders

  • Isobel Steele and Bradley Johnson (Liv Flaherty and Vinny Dingle) – Emmerdale

  • Anna Passey and Kieron Richardson (Sienna Blake and Ste Hay) - Hollyoaks

Best Young Performer

Kelly Neelan in Coronation Street
Young star Kelly Neelan got a big storyline in Coronation Street. (ITV)
  • Millie Gibson (Kelly Neelan) – Coronation Street

  • Sonny Kendall (Tommy Moon) – EastEnders

  • Amelia Flanagan (April Windsor) – Emmerdale

  • Jayden Fox (Bobby Costello) - Hollyoaks

Scene of the Year

  • Coronation Street – Johnny’s Death

Sally Ann Matthews (Jenny Connor), Richard Hawley (Johnny Connor), Julia Goulding (Shona Platt).

  • Doctors – Mad Hatter’s Tea Party

Adrian Lewis Morgan (Jimmi Clay), Ashley Rice (Sid Vere), Jane Pearson (Karen Hollins), Sarah Moyle (Valerie Pitman), Ben Moor (Paul Brooks), Harriet Thorpe (Hattie Brooks), Helen Lederer (Maisie Oliver).

  • EastEnders – Hall of Mirrors

Gillian Wright (Jean Slater), Lacey Turner (Stacey Slater).

  • Emmerdale – Bridge Collapse

Paige Sandhu (Meena Jutla), Matthew Wolfenden (David Metcalfe), Isabel Hodgins (Victoria Sugden), Rebecca Sarker (Manpreet Sharma), Kevin Mathurin (Charles Anderson), Anna Nightingale (Andrea Tate).

  • Hollyoaks – Misbah Didn’t Consent

Haiesha Mistry (Yasmine Maalik), Harvey Virdi (Misbah Maalik).

The British Soap Awards airs on Saturday, 11 June at 8pm on ITV.

Watch: Charles and Camilla visit EastEnders