Callum McGregor has final Celtic fitness hurdle to clear as 5 Scottish Cup dilemmas emerge – Parkhead squad revealed

It has all been going to plan for Celtic with the squad nearing full strength while sitting top of the Premiership amid their battle with Rangers.

But that doesn't mean Brendan Rodgers' will have it all his own way at Hampden in the Scottish Cup semi-final - with Aberdeen already proving they can hold their own against the Hoops this term. Despite a disappointing league campaign for the Dons, interim boss Peter Leven masterminded a 1-1 draw with Celtic in the last meeting between the two - and Rodgers' may look to make tactical tweaks from that day to see off the Pittodrie side.

It wasn't a vintage showing by Kyogo during his last clash with Aberdeen - and Adam Idah could be drafted in to offer more of a physical presence up front. With Daizen Maeda out until the end of the season, the wide areas are still a dilemma for Rodgers.

Luis Palma - who has made his return from injury in recent weeks - could be left on the bench with Yang and Nicolas Kuhn starting. Palma struggled to make an impact during the last visit the Granite City.

Callum McGregor -Credit:SNS Group
Callum McGregor -Credit:SNS Group

Following his absence against St Mirren last week, Liam Scales looks certain to return to the XI and partner Cameron Carter-Vickers with Maik Nawrocki dropping out. But all eyes are on the decision over Callum McGregor going into the clash - with the skipper yet to make his first start since recovering from an Achilles injury.

Tomoki Iwata would feel hard done by to miss out as the anchor in the midfield engine room. But it's hard to replace McGregor's experience at the national stadium - which could prove vital in Mount Florida. The captain will be desperate to clear his final fitness hurdle and start with the end of season run-in ramping up.

Predicted Celtic XI

Provisional Celtic squad


  • Joe Hart

  • Benjamin Siegrist

  • Scott Bain


  • Gustaf Lagerbielke

  • Liam Scales

  • Anthony Ralston

  • Maik Nawrocki

  • Greg Taylor

  • Cameron Carter-Vickers

  • Stephen Welsh


  • Tomoki Iwata

  • Matt O’Riley

  • Callum McGregor

  • Odin Holm

  • Reo Hatate

  • Paulo Bernardo


  • Luis Palma

  • Kyogo Furuhashi

  • James Forrest

  • Nicolas Kuhn

  • Rocco Vata

  • Oh

  • Yang

  • Adam Idah