Cambridge City Council local election 2024 results breakdown in full

The full results for this year's Cambridge City Council elections have now been announced and all of the winning councillors declared. People across Cambridge headed to the polls yesterday (May 2) to cast their vote in the city council election, with the counting taking place this afternoon (May 3).

This year there were 14 of the city council's 42 seats up for election. Labour leader Councillor Mike Davey said he was "delighted" the party had maintained its number of councillors at the authority. He said: “It has been a long few weeks, the last 48 hours has been quite exhausting, but I am absolutely over the moon, we have done really well in Cambridge. We have managed to keep and maintain our number of seats, we are still running the council, I have not done the analysis yet, but we appear to have increased our vote, it just feels like a good day.

The turnout at the city council elections was 37.8 per cent, with the highest individual ward turn out in West Chesterton where 48.3 per cent of eligible voters headed to the polls. The lowest individual turnout in the city was in Abbey ward where 32 per cent of those eligible cast their vote.

Read more: Cambridge local election results 2024

Read more: Live local election 2024 results as votes are counted in Cambridge

The only loss of the day was seen by the Liberal Democrat group, who lost their Newnham seat to the Green Party. The newly elected Green Party candidate, Councillor Hugh Clough, won the seat with 925 votes, with the Liberal Democrat candidate, Lucy Nethsingha coming third behind the Labour candidate, with just 306 votes.

Cllr Clough said he was "delighted" to be elected to the city council. Councillor Tim Bick, leader of the Liberal Democrat group at the city council, said he was "disappointed" the Lib Dems lost the Newnham seat, however he said he was "really pleased" to be returning to the city council with two other colleagues. Here is a break down of all the results for each ward.

Abbey Ward

Rosemary Anne Roe Ansell, Liberal Democrat - 173

Naomi Anne Bennett, Green Party - 1,189 - Elected

Simon Brignell, Communist Party of Britain - 42

Ben Stephen Cartwright, Labour Party - 650

David Philip Smith, Conservative Party - 226

Arbury Ward

Robert William Boorman, Conservative Party - 365

Stephen Roger Lawrence, Green Party - 348

John Leighton, Liberal Democrat - 316

Patrick Sheil, Labour Party - 1,093 - Elected

Castle Ward

Esme Hennessy, Green Party - 294

Antoinette Nestor, Labour Party - 771 - Elected

Szymon Sawicki, Conservative Party - 88

Caroline Ann Tuke Stoddart, Liberal Democrat - 369

David Summerfield, Independent - 407

Cherry Hinton Ward

Mark William Ashton, Labour and Co-operative Party - 1,149 - Elected

Josh Morris-Blake, Green Party - 228

Mo Pantall, Conservative Party - 635

Aiden Roe, Liberal Democrat - 356

Coleridge Ward

Judy Margaret Brunton, Liberal Democrat - 158

Tim Griffin, Labour Party - 1,124 - Elected

Shapour Meftah, Conservative Party - 419

Sarah Louise Nicmanis, Green Party - 881

East Chesterton Ward

Gerri Bird, Labour Party - 1,006 - Elected

Bob Illingworth, Liberal Democrat - 765

Elizabeth Alice May, Green Party - 368

Francisco Ribeiro, Conservative Party - 251

King’s Hedges Ward

Robin Louis Brabham, Green Party - 231

Jenny Gawthrope Wood, Labour Party - 974 - Elected

Sm Nazrul Islam, Conservative Party - 737

Fionna Tod, Liberal Democrat - 217

Market Ward

Tim Bick, Liberal Democrat - 777 - Elected

Rosy Greenlees, Labour Party - 666

John Marenbon, Conservative Party - 146

Krzysztof Strug, Green Party - 310

Newnham Ward

David Carmona, Independent - 155

Hugh Clough, Green Party - 925 - Elected

Lucy Kathleen Nethsingha, Liberal Democrat - 306

Yvonne Nobis, Labour Party - 549

Susie Williams, Conservative Party - 84

Petersfield Ward

Mike Davey, Labour Party - 1,323 - Elected

Zakariyah Karimjee, Green Party - 558

Sam Oliver, Liberal Democrat - 399

Paul Jonathan Roper, Conservative Party - 226

Christopher Wilkinson, Freedom Alliance - Stop the Great Reset! - 44

Queen Edith’s Ward

Eric William Barrett-Payton, Conservative Party - 459

Immy Blackburn-Horgan, Liberal Democrat - 1,123 - Elected

Oliver Edward Fisher, Green Party - 300

Beth Gardiner-Smith, Labour Party - 758

Romsey Ward

Dave Baigent, Labour Party - 1,433 - Elected

William Bannell, Independent - 273

Rob Nelson, Conservative Party - 208

John Charles Walmsley, Liberal Democrat - 307

Iain Duncan Webb, Green Party - 524

Trumpington Ward

Steven Michael George, Conservative Party - 481

Nadya Lokhmotova, Liberal Democrat - 944 - Elected

Chloe Eva Mosonyi, Green Party - 331

Carlos Fernando Toranzos, Labour and Co-operative Party - 836

West Chesterton Ward

Sam Carling, Labour Party - 1,290 - Elected

Jamie Leon Dalzell, Liberal Democrat - 1,082

Michael John Harford, Conservative Party - 236

Shayne Mary Mitchell, Green Party - 397