Coronavirus restrictions mapped: Which tier is your area in?

Chris Baynes
·1-min read
<p>tiers map.JPG</p> (Datawrapper/The Independent)

tiers map.JPG

(Datawrapper/The Independent)

A three-tier system of coronavirus restrictions is to be reinstated in England from 3 December following the end of the national lockdown.

Most of the country will be under tougher rules than before the lockdown after government scientists warned previous measures were not effective enough to stem rising Covid-19 infections.

The Department for Health published details of which tiers areas would be in on Thursday as Matt Hancock outlined the plans in the Commons.

Only a handful of areas have been placed in tier 1, where the restrictions are the most limited. In this tier, socialising is restricted to groups of six indoors and outdoors, people are urged to work from home if possible, and pubs are limited to table service.

Large swathes of the country – including London – will be under tier 2 restrictions with a ban on households mixing indoors. Pubs and restaurants only able to sell alcohol with a “substantial meal”.

Read more: The full list of restrictions by area

In tier 3, households will be banned from mixing except in limited outdoor settings such as parks. Bars and restaurants are to be limited to takeaway or delivery services and people would be advised to avoid travelling outside their area.

Check the map below to find out which tier each area of England is in.

Different restictions are in place for Scotland, Northern Ireland and Wales.