Derek McInnes admits Rangers penalty call was WRONG as Kilmarnock boss offers instant reaction to VAR review

Derek McInnes says VAR and the handball rule need sorted out in the Scottish game - admitting that his side SHOULDN'T have got their penalty against Rangers back in February.

The SFA released the latest list from the VAR Independent Review panel which reveals ten VAR mistakes in Premiership matches between February and April. Included in that was the penalty for handball Kilmarnock got against Gers on February 18.

On-field ref David Dickinson adjudged Lundstram to have handled Danny Armstrong's early cross in the box with the winger stepping up to convert from 12 yards and give his side an early lead. Rangers won the game 2-1 in the end but Philippe Clement criticised the decision, and VAR's overall performance, after the game.

The latest review says VAR should have intervened and overturned Dickinson's decision on the day. And asked by Sky Sports if VAR is an issue that needs to be ironed out, particularly as it relates to handball, McInnes, speaking at Rugby Park where that game took place, said: "I think it is. You hear former referees and current referees disagreeing on what should class as a penalty and whether an incident should be penalised with a penalty or not. It's clear as mud a lot of the time with handball.

"The handball here on John Lundstram, I thought initially it was clear as day, his hand was up. But when you see it again, you can see why Rangers were disappointed the penalty was given. When the contact was made, his arm was in. It probably shouldn't have been a penalty. We've got to get better and clearer messaging with a lot of these issues, particularly the handball."