DHS Theatre presents 'Catch Me If You Can'

Apr. 23—DANVILLE — Danville High School Theatre is presenting "Catch Me If You Can The Musical" this week at the Dick Van Dyke Auditorium.

Some might remember the 2002 Dreamworks movie "Catch Me If You Can" with Leonardo DiCaprio and Tom Hanks, based on the semi-autobiographical book of the same name by Frank Abagnale Jr.

Based on the hit film and the true story, Catch Me If You Can is the high-flying musical comedy about chasing your dreams and not getting caught.

Nominated for four Tony awards, including Best Musical, this entertaining show was created by a Tony Award-winning "dream team," with a book by Terrence McNally (The Full Monty, Ragtime) and a swinging score by Marc Shaiman and Scott Wittman (Hairspray).

Seeking fame and fortune, precocious teenager, Frank Abagnale, Jr., runs away from home to begin an unforgettable adventure. With nothing more than his boyish charm, a big imagination and millions of dollars in forged checks, Frank successfully poses as a pilot, a doctor and a lawyer — living the high life and winning the girl of his dreams. When Frank's lies catch the attention of FBI agent, Carl Hanratty, though, Carl pursues Frank across the country to make him pay for his crimes.

Catch Me If You Can is a big and bright spectacle with high-energy dance numbers and a riveting story.

Cast List:

Frank Abagnale, Jr.: Gavin Baugh

Carl Hanratty: Dayo White

Frank Abagnale, Sr.: Isaiah Easton

Paula Abagnale: Lainee DeVors

Brenda Strong: Bella Norton

Carol Strong/Principal/Judge: Sarah Tabels

Roger Strong/Agent Cod: Zach Pollock

Agent Dollar: Nemo Ray

Agent Branton: Josiah Young

Nurse 1/Cindy: Andrea Downing

Nurse 2/Mindy: Brooklyn Warfield

Nurse 3/Kellie: Gabby McGee

Nurse 4/Shelly: Aniyah Davis

Tailor/Bank Teller: Bailee Easton

Pan Am Executive/Doctor: Lizzie Skovran

Ensemble: Aidan Cox, Allie Cox, Keiper Engel, Maylea English, Jay Estes, Kaylynn Finley, Aiden Gailey, Addy Gritton, Maya Hale, Cora Helferich, Abigail Hogg, Ainsley McLaughlin, Joshua Morris, Macy Musgrave, Camdon O'Herron, Kendall Rannebarger, Serenity Reed, Nevaeh Smith, Samantha Watson, Lexi Wendell and Joselyn Yocius.

Creative Team: Jeff Thomas, Jordan Richey, Bryan Schroeder, Kassie Thomas and Kady Richey.

Show Dates: 7 p.m. Thursday, April 25, and Friday, April 26, and 5:30 p.m. on Saturday, April 27.

The $12 general admission tickets can be purchased in advance at: dhstheatre.ludus.com/200450479.