Dolly Parton releases Wrecking Ball collaboration with Miley Cyrus ahead of album release

Dolly Parton's upcoming album features a string of A-list collaborations (Jonathan Brady/PA) (PA Wire)
Dolly Parton's upcoming album features a string of A-list collaborations (Jonathan Brady/PA) (PA Wire)

Dolly Parton has released a cover of Wrecking Ball with Miley Cyrus, in the lead up to her forthcoming album.

The 77-year-old country music legend is preparing to release her latest full-length record, Rockstar, on November 17, which will see her explore a tougher rock sound, after decades of country music albums, which have made her a record chart-topper.

While fans will have to wait to get their hands on the album next month, the 9 To 5 singer is firmly in promo drive, taking on a cover of her goddaughter Miley Cyrus’ chart-topping smash-hit Wrecking Ball, featuring Cyrus herself.

Parton took to Instagram to make the announcement: “Wrecking Ball (feat. Miley Cyrus) Out Now!” she posted, much to the delight of her fans. She also shared a similar message on her X (formerly Twitter) account, encouraging fans to stream the track.

Wrecking Ball comes from Miley Cyrus’ 2013 album Bangerz, and became her second chart-topper in the UK, as well as her first number one on the US Billboard Hot 100 chart, and a huge hit internationally, thanks in part to her viral music video, inspired by Sinead O’Connors’ Nothing Compares 2 U.

Parton has picked an array of artists to join in on her 30-track rock venture, with collaborators including the likes of Sir Elton John, Sir Paul McCartney, Ringo Starr, Sting, Stevie Nicks of Fleetwood Mac, and Richie Sambora, formerly of Bon Jovi.

Other collaborators include Steven Tyler of Aerosmith, Sheryl Crow, Peter Frampton, Brandi Carlile, Debbie Harry of Blondie and Pink.

Her shift into ruck may seem rather left-field, but the Jolene singer was inducted into the Rock & Roll Hall of Fame last year, an honour that influenced her to finally make her own rock album.

With a highly successful career dating back to 1956, Parton is a bona fide music legend. The I Will Always Love You singer-songwriter has seen 25 of her songs reach number one on the Billboard country music chart, a record for a female artist – tied with Reba McEntire.

She has clocked 44 Top 10 country albums, a record for any artist, with 110 career-charted singles, and has sold more than 100 million records worldwide, making her one of the world’s best selling female artists.

Parton is a staggeringly generous philanthropist, primarily through her Dollywood Foundation, with projects focusing on, among other things, literacy, wildlife preservation and medical research – she notably donated $1m to Vanderbilt University Medical Centre, which was instrumental in the early stages of development of the Moderna Covid-19 vaccine. She also keeps busy with other artistic projects, including an upcoming fashion photo book, Behind The Seams: My Life In Rhinestones. The book will be released on October 17.

Here is the full tracklist for Rockstar:

1. Rockstar (special guest Richie Sambora)

2. World on Fire

3. Every Breath You Take (feat. Sting)

4. Open Arms (feat. Steve Perry)

5. Magic Man (feat. Ann Wilson with special guest Howard Leese)

6. Long as I Can See the Light (feat. John Fogerty)

7. Either Or (feat. Kid Rock)

8. I Want You Back (feat. Steven Tyler with special guest Warren Haynes)

9. What Has Rock And Roll Ever Done For You (feat. Stevie Nicks with special guest Waddy Wachtel)

10. Purple Rain

11. Baby, I Love Your Way (feat. Peter Frampton)

12. I Hate Myself for Loving You (feat. Joan Jett & the Blackhearts)

13. Night Moves (feat. Chris Stapleton)

14. Wrecking Ball (feat. Miley Cyrus)

15. (I Can't Get No) Satisfaction (feat. P!nk and Brandi Carlile)

16. Keep On Loving You (feat. Kevin Cronin)

17. Heart of Glass (feat. Debbie Harry)

18. Don't Let the Sun Go Down on Me (feat. Elton John)

19. Tried to Rock and Roll Me (feat. Melissa Etheridge)

20. Stairway to Heaven (feat. Lizzo and Sasha Flute)

21. We Are the Champions

22. Bygones (feat. Rob Halford with special guests Nikki Sixx & John 5)

23. My Blue Tears (feat. Simon Le Bon)

24. What's Up (feat. Linda Perry)

25. You're No Good (feat. Emmylou Harris & Sheryl Crow)

26. Heartbreaker (feat. Pat Benatar & Neil Giraldo)

27. Bittersweet (feat. Michael McDonald)

28. I Dreamed About Elvis (feat. Ronnie McDowell with special guests The Jordanaires)

29. Let it Be (feat. Paul McCartney & Ringo Starr with special guests Peter Frampton & Mick Fleetwood)

30. Free Bird (feat. Ronnie Van Zant with special guests Gary Rossington, Artimus Pyle and the Artimus Pyle Band)

Dolly Parton’s Rockstar album will be released November 17.