Early voting to begin for Smith County Precinct 3 residents

SMITH COUNTY, Texas (KETK) — Early voting is set to begin Monday for residents living in Precinct 3 in Smith County for the commissioner runoff.

According to a release, residents can cast their ballot at The Hub at 304 E. Ferguson Street in Tyler or at Kinzie Community Center at 912 Mt. Sylvan St in Lindale starting May 20 to 24 from 7 a.m. to 7 p.m.

Smith County Precinct 3 Commissioner candidates are J. Scott Herod, Terry Phillips and Rusty Smith. In the March primaries, Herod won 44% of the votes, Phillips 32% and Smith 24%.

  • Map of Precinct 3, courtesy of Smith County
    Map of Precinct 3, courtesy of Smith County
  • Early voting locations, courtesy of Smith County
    Early voting locations, courtesy of Smith County

Due to construction of the Smith County’s parking garage next to The Hub, Ferguson street is closed to drivers. Voters are encouraged to use the parking lot across from The Hub that remains open. However, drivers will need to enter and exit at the intersection of Ferguson Street and Center Avenue. Officials said there will be voter parking-marked spaces, with the closest one to The Hub reserved for curbside voting.

Election day is May 28 and people can vote at these locations from 7 a.m. to 7 p.m.:

  • Clarkston Elementary: 2915 Williamsburg Dr. in Tyler

  • The Hub: 304 E. Ferguson St. in Tyler

  • Lindale Kinzie Community Center: 912 Mt. Sylvan St. in Lindale

  • Starrville Church of the Living God: 18396 Hwy 271 in Winona

For Smith County residents who do not know if they are covered by Commissioner Precinct 3 can now visit the newly launched interactive map on their website.

Copyright 2024 Nexstar Media, Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.

For the latest news, weather, sports, and streaming video, head to KETK.com | FOX51.com.