Election results: Most significant things that happened overnight - what to know

It has been a night of big wins, historic losses... and more than a few surprises.

Sir Keir Starmer's Labour Party has won the election, and the Conservatives are headed for their worst defeat in the party's history.

After intrigue, drama and more than a few unexpected events already, here are some of the key moments:

Follow election latest: Results and reaction live

Starmer hails 'sunshine of hope'

After the news broke that Labour had won enough seats for a majority - around 5am - Starmer stepped out in front of a crowd in London to huge cheers.

"We did it!" he proclaimed as he celebrated the victory with his supporters.

"A burden finally removed from the shoulders of this great nation...

"The sunlight of hope, pale at first but getting stronger through the day. Shining once again on a country with an opportunity after 14 years to get its future back."

Sunak: 'I'm sorry'

About 20 minutes earlier, Rishi Sunak was at his count in north Yorkshire.

Despite defending his seat, his speech was glum as he conceded the election.

He said the British people had delivered a "sobering verdict" on his party and told those gathered that he had called Starmer to congratulate him.

"I am sorry," he told those gathered. He will continue to serve as MP.

Read more:
Starmer: 'People have spoken'
UK's political landscape could be transformed - here's why

Former PM Liz Truss among senior Tories losing their seats

Liz Truss headlined a string of senior Conservatives who didn't survive the night, as their wider party suffered a crushing defeat.

The former prime minister was defeated in her Norfolk South West constituency, losing to Labour's Terry Jermy by just 630 votes.

Other high-profile losses include: Grant Shapps, defence secretary, Alex Chalk, justice secretary and Lord Chancellor, Gillian Keegan, education secretary, Penny Mordaunt, Commons leader, Johnny Mercer, veterans minister, Mark Harper, transport secretary, former minister Jacob Rees-Mogg and Liam Fox.

Jeremy Corbyn wins as Independent

Barred from standing as a Labour candidate, the former party leader triumphed in Islington North.

He won 24,120 votes - with Labour candidate Praful Nargund only taking around 16,000.

Corbyn has held the seat for more than 40 years and had been heavily campaigning locally to keep hold of it.

Rise of Reform UK as Farage and others win seats

The Reform UK leader, standing to be an MP for the eighth time, won with a large majority in the Essex seat of Clacton.

Nigel Farage said: "My plan is to build a mass national movement over the next few years, and hopefully it'll be big enough to challenge the general election properly in 2029...

"We're coming for Labour, be in no doubt about that."

Elsewhere, the party won three more seats and put in a strong showing in the north east, where it finished second to Labour in several areas.

Not all plain sailing for Labour as two frontbenchers toppled

Green Party co-leader Carla Denyer won in Bristol Central, unseating senior Labour MP Thangam Debbonaire.

It had been a tight race, where the Labour shadow culture minister faced a strong push from the Green Party in the liberal constituency.

Elsewhere, shadow paymaster general Jonathan Ashworth lost to an independent in Leicester South.

Shockat Adam won 14,739 votes, just 979 more than Mr Ashworth who received 13,760 votes.

George Galloway loses seat

After an insurgent campaign to win Rochdale in a by-election in February, George Galloway was not able to defend the seat this time around.

A divisive figure, Galloway had won the seat following a campaign dogged by controversy and dominated by the Middle East conflict.

Tonight, the Workers' Party leader finished in second place with 11,508 votes. Labour's Paul Waugh won the seat with 13,047 votes.