Everything you need to know about Glasgow's six constituencies ahead of Thursday's election

The general election will be held on Thursday, July 4
-Credit: (Image: Andrew Milligan/PA Wire)

When voters in Glasgow go to the polls on Thursday, they will elect six MPs to represent the city at Westminster.

Since 2015, when it picked up a clean sweep of city seats, the SNP has been the dominant party after years of Labour success.

A Labour MP was elected in 2017 — when Paul Sweeney narrowly defeated Anne McLaughlin in Glasgow North East — but, at the 2019 vote, the SNP won in all seven of the city’s constituencies.

READ MORE: Scots face bin chaos as thousands of refuse workers threaten strike amid pay dispute

READ MORE: Oreo cookies 'licked' by Lewis Capaldi expected to sell for hundreds of pounds

Boundary changes mean Glasgow now has six constituencies: Glasgow East, Glasgow North, Glasgow North East, Glasgow West, Glasgow South and Glasgow South West.

The Glasgow Central constituency has been abolished. Alison Thewliss, who was the SNP MP for Glasgow Central, is seeking election in Glasgow North, where Patrick Grady is not standing again.

All the other SNP MPs elected in 2019 — David Linden, Anne McLaughlin, Stewart McDonald, Chris Stephens and Carol Monaghan — are hoping to regain their seats.

Polling stations will be open from 7am to 10pm on Thursday (July 4), and votes will be counted through the night at the Emirates Arena. It is the first general election where people will need identification to vote in person. A list of accepted forms of ID can be found here: https://www.electoralcommission.org.uk/voting-and-elections/voter-id/accepted-forms-photo-id

The Local Democracy Reporting Service has taken a look at the city’s six constituencies and the candidates bidding for your vote on Thursday:

Glasgow East

Significantly redrawn since the last election, the Glasgow East seat now includes the Gorbals and Govanhill as well as Baillieston, Parkhead and Shettleston.

One of the most deprived constituencies, it has been represented by David Linden, for the SNP, since 2017. Created in 2005, it was held by Labour until a by-election win, with a huge swing, for the SNP’s John Mason in 2008.

Labour won the seat back in 2010 but the SNP were successful in 2015 and, in 2019, Linden was elected with a majority of 5,566.

Lawyer John Grady is Labour’s candidate while Thomas Kerr, a councillor for Shettleston and leader of the Glasgow Conservative group, is the Conservative pick in the constituency.

All candidates:

Matthew Clark - Liberal Democrats

John Grady - Labour

Thomas Kerr - Conservatives

Amy Kettyles - Greens

David Linden - SNP

Liam McLaughlan - Scottish Socialist Party

Donnie McLeod - Reform

Glasgow North

This constituency now takes in much of the city centre as well as the west end, including Glasgow University and Kelvingrove Art Gallery, before stretching north to Maryhill, Possilpark, Milton and Summerston.

As previously mentioned, Alison Thewliss is contesting the seat for the SNP after her Glasgow Central constituency was abolished while former Glasgow city councillor Martin Rhodes is the Labour candidate.

With the previous boundaries, it had been Labour since its creation in 2005 until the 2015 election, when Patrick Grady won the seat for the SNP. It has been held by the SNP since, with Grady receiving a majority of 5,601 in 2019.

All candidates:

Naveed Ashgar - Conservative

Helen Burns - Reform

Iris Duane - Greens

Nick Durie - Alba

Daniel O’Malley - Liberal Democrats

Martin Rhodes - Labour

Alison Thewliss - SNP

Glasgow North East

The last seat to be held by Labour in Glasgow, Paul Sweeney, now a Labour MSP, won by just 242 votes in 2017. He became MP at the expense of Anne McLaughlin, SNP, who had been elected in 2015 and then regained the seat in 2019 with a majority of 2,548.

McLaughlin will contest the seat for the SNP once again and is up against current Glasgow Labour councillor Maureen Burke. Robert Connelly, a former Glasgow councillor, is the Conservative selection.

This constituency includes Springburn, Dennistoun, Robroyston, Barmulloch, Cranhill and Easterhouse.

All the candidates:

Maureen Burke, Labour

Robert Connelly, Conservative

Ewan Lewis, Greens

Catherine McKernan, Alba

Anne McLaughlin, SNP

Chris Sermanni, Scottish Trade Unionist and Socialist Coalition

Gary Steele, Communist Party of Britain

Sheila Thomson, Liberal Democrats

Jonathan Walmsley, Reform (North Shropshire)

Glasgow South

The SNP’s Stewart McDonald is seeking re-election in a seat he has held since 2015, when he was voted in ahead of Labour’s Tom Harris, who had been the MP since Glasgow South was created in 2005.

McDonald won with a majority of 9,005 in 2019. Labour has selected Gordon McKee to contest the seat at this election.

Shawlands, Battlefield, Langside, Mount Florida, Newlands, Cathcart and Castlemilk are among the areas covered by this constituency, which also includes Pollok Park and Queen’s Park.

All the candidates:

Niall Christie, Greens

Dhruva Kumar, Alba

Haroun Malik, Conservative

Stewart McDonald, SNP

Gordon McKee, Labour

Peter McLaughlin, Liberal Democrats

Danny Raja, Reform

Brian Smith, Scottish Trade Unionist and Socialist Coalition

Glasgow South West

Taking in Govan, Ibrox, Pollokshields, Pollok, Priesthill and Darnley, this constituency has also been held by the SNP since 2015 after spending the first 10 years since its creation with a Labour MP.

Chris Stephens, the SNP MP since 2015, is standing again. He won with a majority of 4,900 in 2019, after holding onto the seat by just 60 votes at the 2017 election. Labour’s candidate is Dr Zubir Ahmed, an NHS surgeon.

All the candidates:

Zubir Ahmed, Labour

John Hamelink, Greens

Paul McGarry, Liberal Democrats

Morag McRae, Reform

Tony Osy, Alba

Mamun Ur Rashid, Conservative

Chris Stephens, SNP

Glasgow West

A new constituency, Glasgow West, is made up of parts of the old Glasgow North and Glasgow North West, which has been abolished. It covers Partick, Hyndland, Scotstoun, Jordanhill, Knightswood and Drumchapel.

Carol Monaghan, who held the Glasgow North West seat from 2015, is the SNP candidate in the new constituency, where Labour has selected current Glasgow councillor Patricia Ferguson, a former MSP.

Ferguson also contested the 2019 election in Glasgow North West, where Monaghan won with a majority of 8,359.

Faten Hameed, who stood as the Labour candidate in the old Glasgow Central constituency in the 2019 election, is the Conservative candidate. She was also a Conservative candidate at the 2022 Glasgow City Council election.

All the candidates:

James Calder, Liberal Democrats

John Cormack, Scottish Christian Party

Patricia Ferguson, Labour

Faten Hameed, Conservative

Carol Monaghan, SNP

Dionne Moore, Reform

Nick Quail, Greens