Exeter City Council 2024 local elections full candidate list

Inside the Exeter elections count at the Riverside
Inside the Exeter elections count at the Riverside -Credit:Frankie Mills

The full list of candidates for the elections to Exeter City Council have been announced. More than 60 people have put their names down to fight for seats on Exeter City Council.

Voters in the city will go to the polls on Thursday, May 2, to vote for 13 seats on the council, which elects a third of its councillors every year. One seat in each of the council’s 13 wards will be contested, with those councillors who were elected in the delayed elections in 2021 defending their seats.

Seven members of the ruling Labour administration have their terms of office coming to an end, along with two Conservatives, two Independents and one from the Green Party. One seat is technically vacant after the resignation of Cllr Emma Morse last month before her scheduled term of office which was due to be up in this election ended.

Read More

Among the notable councillors seeking re-election are Labour leader Phil Bialyk, who represents Exwick and has led the council since 2019, and Conservative group leader Anne Jobson (St Loyes). Cllr Rob Hannaford, who is standing as an Independent, is the only other sitting councillor who is seeking re-election.

Labour, the Liberal Democrats, the Conservatives and the Green Party are fielding candidates in all 13 wards. Eight independents are also standing for election.

Labour currently has an overall majority on the council, with 23 of the 39 total seats. The Green Party is the next largest with six seats, followed by the Conservatives with four, Liberal Democrats with three and two Independents. One seat is currently vacant, but was held by Labour.

Labour will need to win just four of the seats in order to remain in control of the council. If the Green party were to win 12 of the 13 seats though, they could become the largest party, but would not have an overall majority.

Below is the full list of candidates. Candidates with a * next to their name denote the sitting councillor.

The candidates are:


· HARDING Rob, Labour Party;

· HARRELD Mark Jeffrey, Independent

· HARRISON, Benn Elliott, The Green Party

· HORNER Jamie Liam, Liberal Democrat

· NEW Katherine Helen Judy, The Conservative Party

Duryard and St. James

· BADCOTT Tony, Labour and Co-operative Party

· LEE Martha Sylvia, The Green Party

· MORE O`FERRALL Rory Fouad, The Conservative Party Candidate

· PALMER Tammy Catherine, Liberal Democrat.


· BIALYK Philip Michael, Labour and Co-operative Party *

· CURNOCK Charles Anthony, Liberal Democrat

· HELIANTHUS Eric Sinclair, The Green Party

· LUSCOMBE Kayleigh Michelle Suzanne, The Conservative Party Candidate

· RUFOLO Frankie, Independent.


· COLLACOTT Joan Marilyn, The Conservative Party Candidate

· EADE Jack, The Green Party

· HAIGH Lucy, Independent

· MUTTON Dave, Labour Party

· RUFFLE Rod, Liberal Democrat

Mincinglake and Whipton

· BROWN Oscar Harold, The Conservative Party Candidate

· HUTCHINGS Clive Alan, Independent

· PAYNE Michael Geoffrey, Liberal Democrat

· POLE Liz, Labour Party

· STEPHAN Alex, The Green Party

Newtown and St. Leonard`s

· BROCK Philip John, Liberal Democrat

· CABRERA Julian Edward, Labour Party

· SIMMONDS Paul, Independent

· SPARKES Keith Andrew, The Conservative Party Candidate

· WETENHALL Lynn Susan, The Green Party.


· HUGHES Zoë Jane, Labour Party

· HUNT Jack, The Conservative Party Candidate

· JARMAN Victoria, Independent

· VICKERS Jack David, The Green Party

· WILLIAMS Nigel David, Liberal Democrat.


· CAMPION Christine Anne, Liberal Democrat

· HUSSAIN Jakir, Labour and Co-operative Party

· JAGO Kate, The Green Party

· SIMMONDS Susan, Independent

· THOMPSON David John, The Conservative Party Candidate.


· ABDULRAZAQ Tal, Independent

· LUSCOMBE David, The Conservative Party Candidate

· MULLETT Heather Ursula, The Green Party

· THOMAS Philip Alexander, Liberal Democrat

· WARDLE Tony, Labour Party.

St. David`s

· BANYARD James John, The Green Party

· NEWBY Rob, The Conservative Party Candidate

· STUART Ellen Miriam, Labour and Co-operative Party

· WRIGHT Harry, Liberal Democrat.

St. Loye`s

· BONETTA Jake, Labour and Co-operative Party

· BUTTERS Timothy Robert, Liberal Democrat

· HANCOCK Deb, The Green Party

· JOBSON Anne Margaret, The Conservative Party Candidate. *

St. Thomas

· BRAGG Andy, The Green Party

· CARR Ashley, The Conservative Party Candidate

· DARLING Deborah Charlotte, Labour and Co-operative Party

· HANNAFORD Rob, Independent *

· NEWCOMBE Alexandra Vanessa, Liberal Democrat


· FINCH Sarah Jane, The Green Party

· ROLSTONE Gemma Lorraine, Labour Party

· THOMPSON Cynthia, The Conservative Party Candidate

· WILLIAMSON Alan, Liberal Democrat.