A group of major industrialised countries who meet annually to discuss economic and political issues. The G8 is made up of Canada, France, Germany, Italy, Japan, Russia, the UK and the US. It started life as the G6 in 1975 before Canada joined in 1976 and Russia followed in 1997. The G8 nations represent more than 40% of global GDP. The annual summits are attended by the heads of government and the location changes each year depending on which member country holds the presidency.

This definition is for general information purposes only