Film Academy Board Adds Andy Nelson, Jennifer Fox, Patricia Cardoso and More

The Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences has announced the newly elected Board of Governors for the 2024-2025 year.

Elected to the board for the first time are “Real Women Have Curves” director Patricia Cardoso, Oscar-nominated production designer K.K. Barrett (“Her”), two-time Oscar-winning sound designer Andy Nelson (“Saving Private Ryan” and “Les Misérables”), and producer Jennifer Fox, who has helmed the past four Governors Awards. Oscar winner Chris Tashima (“Visas and Virtue”) was elected to the board, representing the shorts branch, following the split from animation earlier this year.

More from Variety

Additionally, 11 incumbents were re-elected to the board: Rita Wilson (actors), Kim Taylor-Coleman (casting directors), Paul Cameron (cinematographers), Eduardo Castro (costume designers), Jean Tsien (documentary), Pam Abdy (executives), Terilyn A. Shropshire (film editors), Laura C. Kim (marketing and public relations), Lesley Barber (music), Brooke Breton (visual effects) and Howard A. Rodman (writers). Oscar-winning makeup artist Lois Burwell (“Braveheart”) is returning to the Board after a hiatus.

They will join returning governors Wendy Aylsworth, Dion Beebe, Howard Berger, Jason Blum, Rob Bredow, Ruth E. Carter, Megan Colligan, Paul Debevec, Peter Devlin, David I. Dinerstein, Ava DuVernay, Linda Flowers, Charles Fox, DeVon Franklin, Rodrigo García, Richard Gibbs, Donna Gigliotti, Jinko Gotoh, Chris Hegedus, Richard Hicks, Lynette Howell Taylor, Kalina Ivanov, Simon Kilmurry, Ellen Kuras, Marlee Matlin, Hannah Minghella, Daniel Orlandi, Missy Parker, Lou Diamond Phillips, Jason Reitman, Nancy Richardson, Stephen Rivkin, Eric Roth, Dana Stevens, Mark P. Stoeckinger, Marlon West, Janet Yang and Debra Zane.

As a result of the most recent election, the 55-member Board is now comprised of 53% women and 27% belonging to an underrepresented racial or ethnic group. The Board of Governors aims to set the Academy’s strategic vision, preserve the organization’s financial health, and assure its mission’s fulfillment.

The Academy has 19 branches, each represented by three governors, except for the recently established Animation Branch, represented by two governors; the recently established Short Films Branch, represented by one governor; and the Production and Technology Branch, represented by one governor. Governors may serve up to two three-year terms (consecutive or non-consecutive), followed by a two-year hiatus, after which eligibility renews for up to two additional terms for a lifetime maximum of 12 years.

Best of Variety

Sign up for Variety’s Newsletter. For the latest news, follow us on Facebook, Twitter, and Instagram.