Foreign Office names 24 places 'too dangerous' for UK tourists

Brits have been warned of travelling to certain countries -Credit:Peter Byrne/PA Wire
Brits have been warned of travelling to certain countries -Credit:Peter Byrne/PA Wire

The Foreign and Commonwealth Office has expanded its list of destinations deemed 'too dangerous' for UK tourists to visit, with eight new locations added this year.

The total number of 'banned' countries and regions now stands at 24. The Foreign Office provides travel advice for every country worldwide, aiming to ensure the safety of UK citizens when abroad.

This guidance covers a range of potential risks, including crime, war, terrorism, disease, weather conditions, natural disasters, and other threats to visitor safety. The most recent update advises UK citizens to avoid 24 specific countries or regions entirely.

Read more: Met Office weather map shows exactly when parts of UK will be hit by 20C weather

New additions to the list this year include Russia, Ukraine, Iran, Sudan, Lebanon, Israel, Belarus, and the Palestinian territories. These destinations are currently involved in significant conflicts that could pose a serious risk to visitors.

The blacklist now encompasses Afghanistan, Burkina Faso, Central African Republic, Chad, Haiti, Iraq, Israel, Lebanon, Libya, Mali, Niger, North Korea, Somalia, Somaliland, South Sudan, Syria, Venezuela, and Yemen. In terms of landmass, the listed locations constitute a fifth of the world.

Alongside the blacklist, there is also a red list of places where travel should be avoided 'unless absolutely essential', reports Wales Online.

The list of countries includes all or parts of:

  • Algeria

  • Angola

  • Armenia

  • Azerbaijan

  • Bangladesh

  • Benin

  • Burundi

  • Cameroon

  • Colombia

  • Democratic Republic of the Congo

  • Djibouti

  • Ecuador

  • Egypt

  • Eritrea

  • Ethiopia

  • Georgia

  • India

  • Indonesia

  • Ivory Coast

  • Jordan

  • Kenya

  • Kosovo

  • Laos

  • Malaysia

  • Mauritania

  • Mexico

  • Moldova

  • Mozambique

  • Myanmar(Burma)

  • Nigeria

  • Pakistan

  • Papua New Guinea

  • Philippines

  • Saudi Arabia

  • Tanzania

  • Thailand

  • Togo

  • Tunisia

  • Turkey

  • Uzbekistan

  • Western Sahara