Franklin Pele and Jayden Okunbor named in Hull FC reserves side to play Warrington

Franklin Pele in action for Hull FC.
Franklin Pele in action for Hull FC. -Credit:Dave Lofthouse, Hull FC

Franklin Pele will play for Hull FC Reserves against Warrington Wolves at Victoria Park this Saturday afternoon. The front rower featured off the bench in the Super League game at the Halliwell Jones Stadium on Friday night and will now get another run out in the second-string competition.

Pele is joined by Jayden Okunbor, who featured at St Helens two weeks ago, on the reserves bench, while Kye Armstrong is set for his first appearance of the season after overcoming a shoulder injury. The young forward has been targeting a May return for weeks and also takes his place on the interchange.

Elsewhere, Francis Cummins has named a strong side, with Logan Moy starting at full-back after making three senior appearances. Callum Shaw and Liam Tindall are on the wings, with Davy Litten and Ryan Westerman in the centres.

Click here - Get the latest news on our Rugby League Live WhatsApp channel

Ben Johnson gets a well-deserved call-up in the halves. The academy star has been one of the standouts in the under-18s competition this season, and partners Sully Medforth, who will lead the side in the number seven role.

Up front, Will Gardiner starts alongside Matty Laidlaw at prop. Jeylan Hodgson is at hooker, with Zach Jebson and Lennon Bursell in the back row spots. Denive Balmforth gets the nod at loose forward. Mackenzie Harman is named on the bench alongside Armstrong, Okunbor, and Pele. Will Kirby is the 18th man.

Hull reserves are in action for the fifth time of the season against the Wire, kick off 1pm. They have beaten Bradford Bulls and Huddersfield Giants so far and were edged out by Castleford Tigers and St Helens.

Hull Reserves Starting XIII: 1. Logan Moy; 2. Callum Shaw, 3. Davy Litten, 4. Ryan Westerman, 5. Liam Tindall; 6. Ben Johnson, 7. Sully Medforth; 8. Will Gardiner, 9. Jeylan Hodgson, 10. Matty Laidlaw; 11. Zach Jebson, 12. Lennon Bursell; 13. Denive Balmforth.

Interchange: 14. Mackenzie Harman, 15. Jayden Okunbor, 16. Kye Armstrong, 17. Franklin Pele

18th man: 18. Will Kirby

Read more: Hull FC and Hull KR negotiating swap deal that would see props make permanent moves