Full list of candidates running in East Antrim in General Election 2024

Carrickfergus Castle
-Credit: (Image: Getty)

Seven candidates will battle it out to win your votes in the Belfast East constituency in the upcoming UK General Election.

As voters go to the polls on July 4, the DUP 's Sammy Wilson will be hoping to retain the seat that he has held since he defeated the UUP's Roy Beggs Sr in 2005.

Easy Antrim has been an historic unionist stronghold since the constituency was created in 1885. The constituency had been abolished in 1922 only to be reestablished in 1983. Since then just two MPs have represented the constituency.

Read more: Full list of candidates running in the General Election in Northern Ireland

Read more: Register to vote - key closing dates for Northern Ireland

In the recent boundary changes parts of Abbey, Glenwhirry, Jordanstown and Slemish moved into East Antrim alongside the whole of the Glenravel ward.

Back in 2019, Sammy Wilson's vote share fell by 12 per cent to 16,871 (45.3 per cent). The Alliance Party saw their vote climb by 11.7 per cent with their candidate Danny Donnelly receiving 10,165 votes (27.3 per cent).

At the 2022 Assembly election, the DUP received 29.6 per cent of first preference votes while Alliance received 23 per cent. As such, Danny Donnelly will be hoping to continue to make gains for the party in the constituency.

The impact of the TUV running a candidate against Sammy Wilson remains to be seen, however, a recent endorsement from Nigel Farage, despite Reform UK's alliance with the TUV should benefit the DUP incumbent.

Full list of candidates running in East Antrim:

Mark Bailey (Green Party)

Danny Donnelly (Alliance)

Margaret Ann McKillop (SDLP)

Oliver McMullan (Sinn Féin)

John Stewart (UUP)

Matthew Warwick (TUV)

Sammy Wilson (DUP)

For all the latest news, visit the Belfast Live homepage here and sign up to our politics newsletter here.