Full list of candidates running in North Down in General Election 2024

Main Street in Bangor
-Credit: (Image: Justin Kernoghan/Belfast Live)

Six candidates will battle it out to win your votes in North Down in the upcoming UK General Election with the Alliance Party looking to defend its only current seat in Northern Ireland.

Stephen Farry has served as the MP for North Down since 2019 after taking the seat vacated by popular independent unionist Lady Hermon. But he faces a very strong battle against independent unionist and former DUP candidate, Alex Easton, who is making a fourth attempt to secure a Westminster seat.

The DUP and the TUV have already announced they will not run candidates in the North Down constituency in favour of Alex Easton challenging the incumbent Stephen Farry.

READ MORE: Full list of candidates running in the General Election in Northern Ireland

READ MORE: Alliance Party hits out as 'sinister' images of team appear on social media

Former military leader Tim Collins is the UUP candidate while also in the running is Independent Chris Carter. Sinn Fein has announced it will not run candidates in four constituencies in Northern Ireland in the General Election including North Down.

While Sinn Fein, the SDLP and Green Party all stepped aside last time, two of those parties have since re-entered the fray with Barry McKee (Green Party) and the SDLP's Déirdre Vaughan also on the ballot paper.

Recent boundary changes mean the Garnerville area of East Belfast is now part of the constituency which will play a crucial factor in what's expected to be a two horse race between Farry and Easton.

The full list of candidates running in North Down:

Chris Carter (Independent)

Tim Collins (UUP)

Alex Easton (Independent)

Stephen Farry (Alliance)

Barry McKee (Green Party)

Déirdre Vaughan (SDLP)

For all the latest news, visit the Belfast Live homepage here and sign up to our politics newsletter here.