Full list of South Antrim General Election candidates 2024

Eight candidates will battle it out to win your votes in the South Antrim constituency in the upcoming UK General Election.

This constituency is expected to be a two-horse race between the incumbent, DUP's Paul Girvan and former Health Minister Robin Swann from the UUP who has switched constituency from neighbouring North Antrim for this election.

The seat has consistently been held by a unionist since it was created in 1885 but has flip-flopped between the DUP and UUP since Willie McCrea won it for the DUP in a by-election in 2000.

Read more: Full list of candidates running in the General Election in Northern Ireland

Read more: Register to vote - key closing dates for Northern Ireland

In the recent boundary changes, the wards of Ballyduff, Burnthill, Carnmoney, Fairview and Stonyford were moved into the constituency while Jordanstown, Ballyhenry, Carnmoney Hill and Hightown were moved out.

Back in 2019, Paul Girvan's vote fell by just under 3 per cent to 35.3 per cent while the UUP's Danny Kinahan came second on 29 per cent.

The UUP will be hoping that Robin Swann's profile as former Health Minister at Stormont will attract a personal vote for their candidate and with the TUV in the running this time, that could eat into Paul Girvan's majority.

Full list of candidates running in South Antrim:

John Blair (Alliance)

Paul Girvan (DUP)

Declan Kearney (Sinn Féin)

Mel Lucas (TUV)

Roisin Lynch (SDLP)

Siobhan McErlean (Aontú)

Robin Swann (UUP)

Lesley Veronica (Green Party)

For all the latest news, visit the Belfast Live homepage here and sign up to our politics newsletter here.