What tier are you in? Here is the full list of lockdown restrictions for each area

Watch: Matt Hancock outlines England’s return to three-tier COVID system

The government has announced which coronavirus tiers each area of England will be in after the national lockdown ends on 2 December – and most will be in the stricter Tiers 2 and 3.

Large swathes of the country face a ban on household mixing indoors, one of the key restrictions of the top two tiers.

Only three areas were placed in the least severe Tier 1, in which people can gather indoors in groups of up to six (see the full list at the bottom of this page).

Boris Johnson announced England’s return to a “tougher” three-tier system on Monday.

As the government released a full list of tiers by area on Thursday, health secretary Matt Hancock told the House of Commons: “These decisions are not easy, but they are necessary.

A pedestrian wearing a face mask due to the COVID-19 pandemic, walks past Christmas-themed window displays inside Burlington Arcade in central London, on November 23, 2020. - Prime Minister Boris Johnson's latest plan is to roll out mass testing to the hardest-hit areas, hoping to make enough inroads to be able to relax social restrictions in time for Christmas. (Photo by Tolga Akmen / AFP) (Photo by TOLGA AKMEN/AFP via Getty Images)
The government has announced which coronavirus tiers will apply to each area of England once the national lockdown ends. (AFP via Getty Images)

“While all three tiers are less stringent than the national lockdown that we’re all living in now, to keep people safe and to keep the gains that are being made, more areas than before will be in the top two tiers.

“This is necessary to protect our NHS and keep the virus under control.”

The tiers will be reviewed on 16 December, but experts have warned the tough restrictions must continue ahead of the five-day UK-wide easing of measures over Christmas.

This map by Yahoo News UK shows which areas are in which tier...

...and here is the full list of tiers.

Which areas are in Tier 3?

North East

  • Tees Valley Combined Authority: Hartlepool, Middlesbrough, Stockton-on-Tees, Redcar and Cleveland, Darlington

  • North East Combined Authority: Sunderland, South Tyneside, Gateshead, Newcastle-upon-Tyne, North Tyneside, County Durham, Northumberland

North West

  • Greater Manchester

  • Lancashire

  • Blackpool

  • Blackburn with Darwen

Yorkshire and The Humber

  • The Humber

  • West Yorkshire

  • South Yorkshire

West Midlands

  • Birmingham and Black Country

  • Staffordshire and Stoke-on-Trent

  • Warwickshire, Coventry and Solihull

East Midlands

  • Derby and Derbyshire

  • Nottingham and Nottinghamshire

  • Leicester and Leicestershire

  • Lincolnshire

South East

  • Slough (remainder of Berkshire is Tier 2)

  • Kent and Medway

South West

  • Bristol

  • South Gloucestershire

  • North Somerset

Which areas are in Tier 2?

North West

  • Cumbria

  • Liverpool City Region

  • Warrington and Cheshire


  • York

  • North Yorkshire

West Midlands

  • Worcestershire

  • Herefordshire

  • Shropshire and Telford and Wrekin

East Midlands

  • Rutland

  • Northamptonshire

East of England

  • Suffolk

  • Hertfordshire

  • Cambridgeshire, including Peterborough

  • Norfolk

  • Essex, Thurrock and Southend-on-Sea

  • Bedfordshire and Milton Keynes


  • all 32 boroughs plus the City of London

South East

  • East Sussex

  • West Sussex

  • Brighton and Hove

  • Surrey

  • Reading

  • Wokingham

  • Bracknell Forest

  • Windsor and Maidenhead

  • West Berkshire

  • Hampshire (except the Isle of Wight), Portsmouth and Southampton

  • Buckinghamshire

  • Oxfordshire

South West

  • South Somerset, Somerset West and Taunton, Mendip and Sedgemoor

  • Bath and North East Somerset

  • Dorset

  • Bournemouth

  • Christchurch

  • Poole

  • Gloucestershire

  • Wiltshire and Swindon

  • Devon

Which areas are in Tier 1?

South East

  • Isle of Wight

South West

  • Cornwall

  • Isles of Scilly

Read more on the tiered restrictions:

What are the Tier 3 COVID lockdown rules?

What are the Tier 2 COVID lockdown rules?

What are the Tier 1 COVID lockdown rules?

Watch: How England's new three-tier COVID system will work