Blaydon and Consett candidates for the General Election 2024

Derwent Walk Country Park
-Credit: (Image: Newcastle Chronicle)

A new seat formed from approximately half of the old Blaydon and North West Durham constituencies, Blaydon and Consett contains areas in both Gateshead and County Durham.

Liz Twist, who has been Blaydon MP since 2017, is standing for Labour. With outgoing North West Durham MP Richard Holden, the Conservative Party chairman, opting to move to a safer seat in Essex, the Conservative candidate is Angela Sterling, a councillor in the Delves Lane area of Consett and a small business owner. Also standing is Vicky Anderson, a Liberal Democrat councillor in the Dunston Hill and Whickham East ward in Gateshead.

In its new boundaries, the seat contains the areas of Blaydon, Rowlands Gill, and Ryton, in Gateshead, and the towns of Consett, Leadgate and Burnopfield in County Durham.

Read more: former Conservative MP opts for safer seat in South

Go here for more news about the General Election 2024

Here are the Blaydon and Consett candidates for the General Election in 2024:

Vicky Anderson - Liberal Democrat

David Ayre - Reform

Richard Simpson - Green

Angela Sterling - Conservative

Paul Topping - Social Democratic Party

Liz Twist - Labour