General election 2024: The candidates standing in Aberafan Maesteg

The Aberavon seat is changing as part of the boundary review and will now be known as Aberafan Maesteg from the 2024 General Election. The boundaries of all but one Welsh seat have changed ahead of the 2024 election, only Ynys Mon (the island of Anglesey) remains untouched, all others have seen changes which could impact the results on election night. You can read the background to the changes here.

Instead of 40 constituencies, there are now 32 in Wales and the idea behind it is to make all Westminster constituencies the same size. The Aberavon Maesteg seat is mainly made up of what was formerly the Aberavon seat, a safe Labour seat having been held by the party since 1918. Stephen Kinnock has been the MP since 2015.

Using figures from electoral calculus, we can see how this constituency is changing. It is 83.8% of the former Aberavon constituency with the remainder being the former Ogmore (26.4%), Bridgend (17.2%) and Neath (1.6%) seats. For the latest politics news in Wales sign up to our newsletter here.

READ MORE: What is my general election 2024 constituency - as 90% of areas hit by boundary changes

READ MORE: UK general election postal vote details including how to register and how it works

The election is taking place on Thursday, July 4 and 32 MPs will be elected to represent Wales.

Where does the constituency cover?

The communities of Aberavon, Briton Ferry, Baglan, Bryn, Cwmavon, Cymmer, Glyncorrwg, Gwynfi, Margam, Port Talbot, Sandfields and Taibach will be in the new Aberafan Maesteg constituency along with Pontrhydyfen and Tonmawr, (Pelenna from Neath) along with Cornelly and Pyle (from Bridgend), and Caerau, Nantyfyllon, Maesteg, Cwmfelin, Llangynwyd (Caerau, Maesteg and Llyngynwyd from Ogmore).

Skewen, Llandarcy, Jersey Marine and Crymlyn Burrows will join the new Neath and Swansea East constituency.

Here is the map from the Boundary Commission for Wales for the Aberafon Maesteg constituency:

You can also find your constituency by entering your postcode here:

What happened in the general election in 2019

Who is standing?

  • Captain Beany (Independent)

  • Colin Deere (Plaid Cymru)

  • Justin Griffiths (Lib Dem)

  • Mark Griffiths (Reform UK)

  • Nigel Hill (Green Party)

  • Stephen Kinnock (Labour)

  • Abigail Mainon (Conservatives)

  • Rhiannon Morrissey (Heritage Party)

The candidates

All candidates are being asked the same questions, and their answers will be added here once received.

Captain Beany

Captain Beany, independent candidate for Aberafan Maesteg
Captain Beany, independent candidate for Aberafan Maesteg

Captain Beany did not answer the questions in order but sent the following statement: Captain Beany is one REAL life half-baked caped crusading superhero heralding from Planet Beanus who is on one full blown mission to that of helping human 'beans' for the beanifit of beankind! Since crash landing on Planet Wales many decades ago, he has totally devoted himself to maximise his charismatic colourful persona to raise thousands, upon thousands of pounds for all manner of charitable fundraising causes close to his fart! His bean dream one day is to organise an annual charity 'National Baked Beans On Toast Day' event and needless to say, raise a toast of the town on behalf for this intrepid saucy super bean! May the force be with you as you cast your vote on beanpoll day!