General election 2024: The candidates standing in Llanelli

Llanelli is a safe Labour seat and has been represented by Nia Griffith since 2005. The constituency is only marginally changing for the 2024 election.

The boundaries of all but one Welsh seat have changed ahead of the July 4 election, only Ynys Mon (the island of Anglesey) remains untouched, all others have seen changes which could impact the results on election night. You can read the background to the changes here.

Instead of 40 constituencies, there are now 32 in Wales and the idea behind it is to make all Westminster constituencies the same size. Using figures from electoral calculus, we can see it is mainly staying the same as before with 100% of the former constituency and 15.8% of Carmarthen East and Dinefwr, which opted for Plaid Cymru in 2019.

READ MORE: What is my general election 2024 constituency - as 90% of areas hit by boundary changes

READ MORE: UK general election postal vote details including how to register and how it works

The election is taking place on Thursday, July 4 and 32 MPs will be elected to represent Wales.

Where does the constituency cover?

It includes Llanelli town, Pembrey, Llannon, Pontyberem, Llangennech and Hendy.

You can also find your constituency by entering your postcode here:

What happened in the General Election in 2019

Who is standing?

  • Gareth Beer (Reform UK)

  • Rhodri Davies (Plaid Cymru)

  • Charlie Evans (Conservatives)

  • Nia Rhiannon Griffith (Labour)

  • Karen Laurence (Green Party)

  • Chris Passmore (Lib Dem)

  • Stan Robinson (UKIP)