General Election 2024 - The candidates standing in Wrexham

The former Labour heartland was one of a number to turn blue in 2019 when Boris Johnson's "Get Brexit Done" message took a wrecking ball to the so-called Red Wall. Currently a Conservative seat, Wrexham is taking on a large chunk of the Clwyd South constituency as part of the boundary review. The seat will be made bigger by adding 39.2% of Clwyd South.

The boundaries of all but one Welsh seat have changed ahead of the 2024 election, only Ynys Mon (the island of Anglesey) remains untouched, all others have seen changes which could impact the results on election night. You can read the background to the changes here.

Instead of 40 constituencies, there are now 32 in Wales and the idea behind it is to make all Westminster constituencies the same size.

Read more: The seat to watch in Wales on election night

Don't miss: What is my constituency for the general election

Where does the constituency cover?

It includes Overton, Rosset, Holt, Brymbo and central city wards.

You can enter your postcode here to find your constituency

What happened in the 2019 general election?

Who is standing?

  • Paul Ashton (Abolish the Welsh Assembly Party)

  • Sarah Elizabeth Atherton (Conservatives)

  • Charles Dodman (Reform UK)

  • Becca Martin (Plaid Cymru)

  • Tim Morgan (Green Party)

  • Andrew Ranger (Labour)

  • Timothy John Sly (Lib Dem)