General election 2024: The candidates standing in Alyn and Deeside

The Alyn and Deeside seat in the 2024 General Election is being expanded to include part of the Delyn constituency for general elections from 2024 and beyond. The former Alyn and Deeside seat is Labour, Delyn turned Conservative in 2019 and Rob Roberts represented it as an independent after losing the Conservative whip in 2021.

The boundaries of all but one Welsh seat have changed ahead of the 2024 election, only Ynys Mon (the island of Anglesey) remains untouched, all others have seen changes which could impact the results on election night. You can read the background to the changes here.

Instead of 40 constituencies, there are now 32 in Wales and the idea behind it is to make all Westminster constituencies the same size. Using figures from electoral calculus, we can see how this constituency is changing. It is all the former Alyn and Deeside constituency, and 23.1% of Delyn seat.

READ MORE: What is my general election 2024 constituency - as 90% of areas hit by boundary changes

READ MORE: UK general election postal vote details including how to register and how it works

Where does the constituency cover?

It includes areas such as Broughton, Connah's Quay Golftyn, Sealand, Shotton Higher, Shotton West and Treuddyn as well as Bagillt East, Bagillt West. Flint Castle, Flint Coleshill, Flint Oakenholt and Flint Trelawny.

You can also find your constituency by entering your postcode here:

What happened in the general election in 2019

Who is standing?

  • Edwin Duggan (Independent)

  • Jeremy Richard Kent (Conservatives)

  • Karl Raymond MacNaughton (Green Party)

  • Richard David Marbrow (Lib Dem)

  • Jack William Morris (Plaid Cymru)

  • Vicki Roskams (Reform UK)

  • Mark Tami (Labour)