General election 2024: The candidates standing in Bangor Aberconwy

The new seat of Bangor Aberconwy is made up of the whole of the former Aberconwy constituency, won by the Conservatives in 2019, as well as 40.9% of Arfon, a Plaid Cymru seat held by outgoing Hywel Williams and 14.2% of Clwyd West, also a Conservative seat.

The boundaries of all but one Welsh seat have changed ahead of the 2024 election, only Ynys Mon (the island of Anglesey) remains untouched, all others have seen changes which could impact the results on election night. You can read the background to the changes here.

Instead of 40 constituencies, there are now 32 in Wales and the idea behind it is to make all Westminster constituencies the same size. Using figures from electoral calculus, we see it is taking a big chunk of the Arfon seat.

READ MORE: What is my general election 2024 constituency - as 90% of areas hit by boundary changes

READ MORE: UK general election postal vote details including how to register and how it works

The election is taking place on Thursday, July 4 and 32 MPs will be elected to represent Wales.

Where does the constituency cover?

This constituency includes Betws-y-Coed, Bryn, Eglwysbach, Gogarth, Mostyn as well as Betws yn Rhos, Llangernyw, Llanrhaeadr-Yng-Nghinmeirch and Arllechwedd, Deiniol, Dewi and Garth.

You can also find your constituency by entering your postcode here:

What happened in the general election in 2019

Who is standing?

  • John Clark (Reform UK)

  • Petra Haig (Green Party)

  • Claire Hughes (Labour)

  • Kathrine Jones (Socialist Labour Party)

  • Steve Marshall (Climate Party)

  • Robin Millar (Conservatives)

  • Rachael Roberts (Lib Dem)

  • Catrin Wager (Plaid Cymru)