General election 2024: The candidates standing in Blaenau Gwent and Rhymney

The new Blaenau Gwent and Rhymney seat pulls in a combination of Labour strongholds. Under the new electoral boundaries, it is all the former Blaenau Gwent seat with part of Merthyr and Rhymney, Caerphilly and Islwyn. Nick Smith has been the Labour MP for Blaenau Gwent since 2010.

The boundaries of all but one Welsh seat have changed ahead of the 2024 election, only Ynys Mon (the island of Anglesey) remains untouched, all others have seen changes which could impact the results on election night. You can read the background to the changes here.

Instead of 40 constituencies, there are now 32 in Wales and the idea behind it is to make all Westminster constituencies the same size. Using figures from electoral calculus, we can see how this constituency is changing. The new make-up is 100% of the former Blaenau Gwent seat plus 20.3% of Merthyr Tydfil and Rhymney, 9.2% of Caerphilly and 4.8% of Islwyn.

READ MORE: What is my general election 2024 constituency - as 90% of areas hit by boundary changes

READ MORE: UK general election postal vote details including how to register and how it works

The election is taking place on Thursday, July 4 and 32 MPs will be elected to represent Wales.

Where does the constituency cover?

This constituency includes Abertillery, Blaina, New Tredegar as well as Pontlottyn, Twyn Carno, Aberbargoed, Bargoed and Gilfach.

Here is the map from the Boundary Commission for Wales for the Blaenau Gwent and Rhymney seat:

You can also find your constituency by entering your postcode here:

What happened in the general election in 2019

Who is standing?

  • Anne Baker (Green Party)

  • Jackie Charlton (Lib Dem)

  • Robert Griffiths (Communist Party of Britain)

  • Yas Iqbal (Workers Party)

  • Hannah Elizabeth Jarvis (Conservatives)

  • Niamh Salkeld (Plaid Cymru)

  • Nick Smith (Labour)

  • Mike Whatley (Independent)