What is my General Election 2024 constituency after boundary changes

Voters will go to the polls this summer after Rishi Sunak called a general election - but with boundary changes affecting 90% of constituencies, many will be voting in unfamiliar territory.

This is true in North Wales as the number of constituencies in Wales has been reduced from 40 to 32. It means whatever happens at the General Election Wales will lose eight MPs, giving the country even less say in the UK Parliament.

Only Ynys Mon (Anglesey) has been protected from any changes under the recent reforms. North Wales will see its number of MPs fall from 10 to seven, reducing the region's representation in London.

READ MORE: One of Wales's most iconic hotels up for sale for first time in nearly 40 years

READ MORE: The 'routine' police stop that saw driver abandon van in middle of A55 and cops make discovery

It means thousands of people will find the name of their constituency has changed since the 2019 General Election when they choose a candidate to be their MP from July 4.

You can find out which General Election 2024 constituency you live in by using our interactive gadget. Type in your postcode to see the name of your 2024 constituency, the name of the previous constituency (where it has changed) and the name of your sitting MP.

The latest review has been conducted to ensure all constituencies are roughly the same size and respect local ties between areas.

Except for five protected island seats, all constituencies must have population sizes within 5% of the “electoral quota” of 73,393.

That means most constituencies will see at least some boundary changes.

The new Welsh constituencies

  • Aberafan Maesteg

  • Alyn and Deeside

  • Bangor Aberconwy

  • Blaenau Gwent and Rhymney

  • Brecon, Radnor and Cwm Tawe

  • Bridgend

  • Carmarthen

  • Caerphilly

  • Cardiff East

  • Cardiff North

  • Cardiff South and Penarth

  • Cardiff West

  • Ceredigion Preseli

  • Clwyd East

  • Clwyd North

  • Dwyfor Meirionnydd

  • Gower

  • Llanelli

  • Merthyr Tydfil and Aberdare

  • Mid and South Pembrokeshire

  • Monmouthshire

  • Montgomeryshire and Glyndwr

  • Neath and Swansea East

  • Newport East

  • Newport West and Islwyn

  • Pontypridd

  • Rhondda and Ogmore

  • Swansea West

  • Torfaen

  • Vale of Glamorgan

  • Wrexham

  • Ynys Môn

Sign up now for the latest news on the North Wales Live Whatsapp community

See what's happening in your area: