General Election 2024: Full list of candidates for North Somerset

The candidates standing in North Somerset at the general election on July 4 have now been confirmed.

Conservative MP for North Somerset Liam Fox is the longest-serving MP in all of Somerset, having held the seat since 1992 when it was still called Woodspring. But now five parties are standing candidates against him: Labour, the Liberal Democrats, the Greens, Reform, and the Workers Party.

The Women’s Equality Party submitted a nomination for a candidate but failed to get on the ballot, as they only had eight subscribers who signed the nomination — two less than the required ten.

This is the first general election where voters will need to take an accepted form of photo ID with them to vote at a polling station. It is also the first election with new constituency boundaries, which sees Yatton and the area around it move into the new Wells and Mendip Hills constituency.

If you are not yet registered to vote, you need to register to vote by June 18 here. You can sign up for a postal vote until 5pm on June 19 here or sign up for a proxy vote until 5pm on June 26 here.

There are 20 accepted forms of photo ID which you can show at a polling station when you vote. You can check that your ID is on the list, and you have until 5pm on June 26 to sign up for a Voter Authority Certificate if it is not, here.

Candidates nominated for North Somerset are:

  • Labour: Sadik Al-Hassan

  • Workers Party: Suneil Basu

  • Liberal Democrat: Ash Cartman

  • Conservative: Sir Liam Fox

  • Reform UK: Alexander Kokkinoftas

  • Green: Oscar Livesey-Lodwick