What is my general election constituency in northern Lincolnshire? Find out the boundary changes

Prime Minister Rishi Sunak departing 10 Downing Street - he has called the general election for July 4
-Credit: (Image: Stefan Rousseau/PA Wire)

The general election has been called and the British public will vote at polling stations on July 4 to elect MPs to Parliament, but with very different constituencies to last time.

Since the 2019 general election, there has been a review and redrawing of parliamentary constituencies ahead of the next national vote. This is to reflect demographic changes.

Numerous constituencies across the country have been altered, some abolished, and others created. Northern Lincolnshire is no exception, though the number of constituencies covering it, four, will remain the same.

Read More:

Below is your handy guide to the new constituency boundaries in northern Lincolnshire, and a postcode finder tool to identify your own constituency.

Great Grimsby and Cleethorpes

Conservative Lia Nici and Labour's Melanie Onn will have a rematch of 2019 in this constituency in North East Lincolnshire. Despite some public opposition to it, the two towns of Grimsby and Cleethorpes are almost entirely being put into one constituency.

The existing Great Grimsby constituency is adding Croft Baker, Haverstoe, and Sidney Sussex wards to it, and losing Scartho. Wards included: Croft Baker; East Marsh; Freshney; Haverstoe; Heneage; Park; Sidney Sussex; South; West Marsh; Yarborough.

Great Grimsby and Cleethorpes
Great Grimsby and Cleethorpes -Credit:Boundary Commission for England / Crown.

Scunthorpe County

The constituency of Scunthorpe in North Lincolnshire Council area has expanded to encompass rural areas to the north and west, and now looks somewhat like a wonky, weather-beaten jigsaw piece. Burringham and Gunness, and Burton upon Stather and Winterton are the new ward additions.

Its expansion was because the previous constituency had too small an electorate. Conservative Holly Mumby-Croft and Labour's Sir Nic Dakin are also set to re-compete for Scunthorpe voters, as they did back in 2019.

Scunthorpe County
Scunthorpe County -Credit:Boundary Commission for England / the Crown

Wards included: Ashby Central; Ashby Lakeside; Bottesford; Brumby; Burringham and Gunness; Burton upon Stather and Winterton; Crosby and Park; Frodingham, Kingsway with Lincoln Gardens; Messingham; Ridge; Town.

Brigg and Immingham

This new constituency straddles North and North East Lincolnshire Council areas. It is where Scartho Ward has ended up. Until earlier this month, all wards were represented by Conservative councillors only. This has changed after Labour's win in Scartho.

Originally, it was to be called 'South Humber', but a name backlash, led to the revision. Current Cleethorpes MP Martin Vickers is set to stand for the Conservatives, and Najmul Hussain for Labour. Wards included: North Lincolnshire - Barton; Brigg and Wolds; Broughton and Scawby; Ferry. North East Lincolnshire - Humberston and New Waltham; Immingham; Scartho; Waltham; Wolds.

Brigg and Immingham
Brigg and Immingham -Credit:Boundary Commission for England / Crown

Doncaster East and the Isle of Axholme

Brigg and Goole is no more - the constituency, that is. Its northern Lincolnshire inhabitants have been swallowed up either in Brigg and Immingham, or this new constituency, which combined North Lincolnshire and part of South Yorkshire.

The Isle of Axholme is traditionally a strong Conservative area, but Doncaster is traditionally Labour-leaning. With four wards from City of Doncaster and three from North Lincolnshire's Isle of Axholme, this constituency will have a varied mix of urban and rural.

Doncaster East and Axholme
Doncaster East and Axholme -Credit:Boundary Commission for England / Crown.

Conservative Nick Fletcher, currently MP for Don Valley, and Labour's Lee Pitcher are set to stand. Wards included: North Lincolnshire: - Axholme Central; Axholme North; Axholme South. City of Doncaster - Finningley; Hatfield; Rossington & Bawtry; Thorne & Moorends.