In pictures: Jo Swinson and Nigel Dodds among big-name MPs to lose their seats in General Election

A number of big-name MPs have lost their seats in the General Election, which saw the Conservatives storm to victory with a large majority.

The Tories claimed swathes of the Labour heartlands after the prime minister’s “Get Brexit done” election message hit home with working-class Leave voters.

The result for Labour was so bad its leader Jeremy Corbyn announced he would be resigning.


Nicola Sturgeon criticised for wild celebration over Jo Swinson defeat

The night Jeremy Corbyn's socialist dream died

The biggest moments from election night

The well-known MPs who were ousted included Liberal Democrat leader Jo Swinson, Westminster DUP leader Nigel Dodds, Labour’s Laura Pidcock and Dennis Skinner.