Georgia agricultural commodity commissions seek nominations

May 3—ATLANTA — Georgia Agriculture Commissioner Tyler Harper announced Wednesday that 12 of Georgia's agricultural commodity commissions are seeking nominations from producers to serve on their respective commissions.

Nomination forms are available on the Georgia Department of Agriculture's website and will be accepted until May 24. Administered by the Georgia Department of Agriculture, these commissions oversee farmer-funded programs dedicated to strengthening Georgia's No. 1 industry through research, education, and promotion of a number of Georgia Grown commodities, according to a press release from the state Department of Agriculture.

"Georgia's agriculture commodity commissions play a vital role in supporting and advancing our state's No. 1 industry through research, promotion, and education," Harper said. "I strongly encourage producers to step forward and consider serving on these vitally important commissions as we work together to ensure the continued success of Georgia's farmers and farm families."

Producers can nominate themselves, be nominated by others, or receive a nomination from an affiliated organization for their commodity. Their role involves attending periodic meetings and making decisions on behalf of their peers. Commission members serve a three-year term, with the possibility of reappointment. They represent the interests of the commodity's producers. The Commodity Commission Ex Officio Committee makes appointments to the commissions in July.

Commission Members with Expiring Terms:

Apple Commission: Andy Futch (Gilmer County) and John Reece (Gilmer County).

Beef Commission: Kenneth Murphy (Meriweather County) and Kristy Arnold (Wayne County).

Blueberry Commission: John Strickland (Clinch County) and Jerome Crosby (Atkinson County).

Corn Commission: Herbert Daniel (Evans County) and Lee Webster (Burke County).

Cotton Commission: Chad Mathis (Baker County) and Bart Davis (Colquitt County).

Equine Commission: Julie Murphy (Brooks County) and Robin Tardy (Madison County).

Milk Commission: Aillene Schaapman (Wilcox County) and Paul Johnson (Decatur County).

Peach Commission: Lawton Pearson (Crawford County) and Drew Echols (Hall County).

Pecan Commission: Brenda Evans (Peach County) and Emory Mixon (Toombs County).

Tobacco Commission: Daniel Johnson (Pierce County).

Vegetable Commission: Jamie Brannen (Echols County), Jason Tyrone (Lowndes County), and Bill Brim (Tift County).

Wine & Grape Commission: Gary Engel (Gilmer County) and Eric Miller (White County).

Nomination forms are available on the Georgia Department of Agriculture's dedicated commodity commission webpage or can be requested via email. Completed forms should be submitted by email or mail to:

Georgia Dept of Agriculture

ATTN: Andy Harrison

19 Martin Luther King Jr. Dr. SW.

Suite 324

Atlanta, GA 30334

For further information, please contact Andy Harrison at 404-710-1196 or

Established in the 1960s by the Georgia General Assembly, the Georgia agriculture commodity commissions operate as official entities of the State of Georgia. The Ex Officio Committee responsible for appointments includes the Commissioner of Agriculture, the president of the Georgia Farm Bureau, and two members appointed by the Georgia Senate and House Agriculture committees.