‘Hacks,’ ‘The Sympathizer,’ ‘The Crown’ Among Humanitas Prize 2024 Nominees (EXCLUSIVE)

Humanitas has announced nominations for the 2024 Humanitas Prize in nine juried categories, including TV, film and documentary fields. Noms in the comedy field include “Hacks,” “The Simpsons,” “Girls5eva” and “Act Your Age,” while drama entrants include “The Crown,” “The Morning Show,” “Station 19” and “Black Cake.”

“For fifty years, The Humanitas Prizes have recognized writers who explore the human condition in a nuanced, meaningful way, with stories that entertain and uplift audiences,” said Humanitas executive director Michelle Franke. “The Humanitas Prizes champion work that enhances the lives of viewers, even if these projects are not always rewarded by the marketplace.”

More from Variety

Humanitas has tapped actors/writers June Diane Raphael and Paul Scheer as host of this year’s Humanitas Prizes event, which will take place on Thursday, September 12 (three days before the Emmy Awards) at Avalon Hollywood. The 2024 New Voices Fellowship, David and Lynn Angell College Comedy Award and Carol Mendelsohn College Drama Award will also be presented at The Humanitas Prizes Award Show & Toast. The new Starz #TakeTheLead Award will also be presented to its inaugural recipient at the event.

The awards show raises support for Humanitas’ New Voices Fellowship, College Screenwriting Awards, and other programs including its “Industry 101” event series, “The Writers Room” program for high school students and the “Groceries for Writers” project.

The Humanitas Prize, which is celebrating its 50th anniversary this year, recognizes writers for their work in exploring the human condition “in a nuanced, meaningful way.” Last year’s winners included Craig Mazin for “The Last of Us,” Amy Sherman-Palladino for “The Marvelous Mrs. Maisel” and Tony Phelan and Joan Rater for “A Small Light.”

Here are the 2024 Humanitas Prize nominees:

Drama Teleplay

“Black Cake” (“Nine Night”) — Marissa Jo Cerar
“The Crown” (“Ritz”) — Meriel Sheibani-Clare, Peter Morgan
“The Morning Show” (“White Noise”) — Joshua Allen
“Station 19” (“With So Little to Be Sure Of”) — Rochelle Zimmerman

Comedy Teleplay

“Act Your Age” (“Snip Snip”) — Myles Warden, Capri Sampson
“Girls5eva” (“Bomont”) — Meredith Scardino, Janine Brito
“Hacks” (“Yes, And”) — Samantha Riley, Lucia Aniello, Jen Statsky, Paul W. Downs
“The Simpsons” (“Night of the Living Wage”) — Cesar Mazariegos

Limited Series Teleplay

“All the Light We Cannot See” (“Episode 1”) — Steven Knight
“Fellow Travelers” (“Your Nuts Roasting on an Open Fire”) — Anya Leta
“The Sympathizer” (“Endings Are Hard, Aren’t They?”) — Park Chan-wook, Don
“We Were the Lucky Ones” (“Rio”) — Erica Lipez

Children’s Teleplay

“Heartstopper” (“Perfect”) — Alice Oseman
“Marvel’s Moon Girl and Devil Dinosaur” (“Ride or Die”) — Halima Lucas
“Snoopy Presents: Welcome Home, Franklin” — Robb Armstrong, Craig Schulz, Bryan
Schulz, Cornelius Uliano
“What If…?” (“What If… Hela Found the Ten Rings?”) — Matthew Chauncey

Drama Feature Film

“All of Us Strangers” — Andrew Haigh
“Origin” — Ava DuVernay
“Society of the Snow”— J.A. Bayona, Bernat Vilaplana, Jaime Marques-Olarreaga,
Nicolás Casariego
“Suncoast” — Laura Chinn

Comedy Feature Film

“American Fiction” — Cord Jefferson
“Flora and Son” — John Carney
“The Holdovers” — David Hemingson
“Jules” — Gavin Steckler


“The Cowboy and the Queen” — Andrea Nevins, Graham Clark
“El Equipo: The Story of the Argentine Forensic Anthropology Team” — Bernardo Ruiz,
Fabian Caballero
“Sexual Healing” — Elsbeth Fraanje

Family Feature Film

“Elemental” — John Hoberg, Kat Likkel, Brenda Hsueh
“Frybread Face and Me” — Billy Luther
“A Million Miles Away” — Bettina Gilois, Hernán Jiménez, Alejandra Márquez Abella
“Nimona” — Robert L. Baird, Lloyd Taylor

Short Film

“Astonishing Little Feet” — Maegan Houang
“The Ballad of Tita and the Machines” — Luis Antonio Aldana, Miguel Angel Caballero
“Jelly” — Anndi Jinelle Liggett
“The Rebel Girls” — Felicia D Henderson

Best of Variety

Sign up for Variety’s Newsletter. For the latest news, follow us on Facebook, Twitter, and Instagram.