Hexham candidates for the General Election 2024

The Hexham ward has long been considered the Conservatives’ safest seat in the North East, and the party has held it for more than 99 years.

Guy Opperman, a former barrister, was first elected to the seat in 2010, and currently has a majority of more than 10,000. He has served as a Pensions Minister and Transport Minister under various Conservative leaders.

Labour have selected Joe Morris, who grew up in the constituency, and some polls have given him a chance of winning. The party’s deputy leader Angela Rayner and Shadow Environment Secretary Steve Reed have joined him on the campaign trail.

Read more: Angela Rayner visits Hexham on the Labour battlebus

Go here for more news about the General Election 2024

Also standing are Nick Cott, a Liberal Democrat councillor in Newcastle, and Nick Morphet, a Green councillor representing a rural area in the constituency. Boundary changes have brought the Throckley and Callerton areas on the western fringes of Newcastle into the constituency, which also includes Prudhoe and Ponteland.

Here are the Hexham candidates for the General Election in 2024:

William Clouston - Social Democratic Party

Nick Cott - Liberal Democrat

Nick Morphet - Green

Joe Morris - Labour

Guy Opperman - Conservative

Chris Whaley - Independent