Hinckley and Bosworth has chosen next MP as General Election results announced

Hinckley town centre
-Credit: (Image: Google)

The Conservatives' Dr Luke Evans has held on to his Leicestershire seat. Previously known as simply Bosworth, the county constituency has been renamed as Hinckley and Bosworth.

The Conservative MP has represented the constituency in Parliament since 2019. He secured 17,032 votes to secure another five year term.

He beat out five other candidates also vying for the seat. Michael Mullaney for the Liberal Democrats came second with 11,624 votes.

READ MORE: Live Leicester and Leicestershire General Election 2024 news and results

Peter Alan Cheshire for Reform UK was third with 8,817 votes. Turnout was 62.46 per cent.

Dr Evans said: “It is an honour to be re-elected as the Member of Parliament for Hinckley & Bosworth, on what has been a tough night for the Conservatives.

“I am proud of the progress we have achieved together locally like the investment in our hospital and schools, as well as the success of our rural crime team. But there is still much more to do like improving special educational needs provision in Leicestershire and getting the A5 upgraded and sorting the Watling Street Bridge.

“I'd like to welcome Appleby Magna, Oakthorpe, Donisthorpe and Acresford as well as the new villages to the constituency. I will do my best to build a relationship with North West Leicestershire District Council to improve services.

“Looking forward I will be doing all I can to ensure Hinckley and Bosworth continues to be heard in the national arena, I won't let you down."

The results of the 2024 General Election in Hinckley and Bosworth

Peter Alan Cheshire, Reform UK – 8,817

Dr Luke Evans, Conservatives – 17,032

Harry Masters, Independent – 211

Michael Mullaney, Liberal Democrats – 11,624

Rebecca Louise Pawley, Labour – 8,601

Cassie Wells, Green Party – 1,514