Jarrow and Gateshead East general election results 2024 in full

Jarrow MP Kate Osborne
-Credit: (Image: Newcastle Chronicle)

Kate Osborne was elected in the new constituency of Jarrow and Gateshead East, as she vowed to end child poverty in her constituency.

The result, a majority of 8,964, was met with loud cheers and applause from Labour delegates at the count. The vote, which ran smoothly, was not attended by the Reform UK candidate Lynda Alexander and Conservative candidate Jack Gebhard, with votes plummeting for the Conservatives both locally and nationally.

The new seat contains Jarrow, Hebburn and the Felling and Windy Nook areas of Gateshead.

Read more: North East general election results live

Labour’s Kate Osborne, a former postal worker and union activist, has been re-elected to the seat that she won in a general election for the first time in 2019. The seat has been held by Labour since 1935, and in 2024 returned a majority of almost 9,000.

The majority of the new seat comes from the former Jarrow constituency, apart from the Cleadon and East Boldon ward. Areas of Gateshead have also been added, with Felling, Windy Nook and Whitehills all coming into the constituency.

Below are the results for each candidate in Jarrow and Gateshead East in full:

Lynda Alexander - Reform, 9,892

Mark Conway - Alliance for Democracy and Freedom ADF, 502

Nic Cook - Green, 2,384

Jack Gebhard - Conservative, 3,354

Kate Osborne - Labour, 18,856

Jamie Rickleton - Liberal Democrat, 1,740

You can find all the results and reaction on our dedicated general election results page here.

All the results for the Jarrow and Gateshead East constituency, and across the UK as they are announced, are in the interactive widget below. This will update once each count has been declared with who won the seat and how many votes each candidate received.