John Swinney's full ministerial team confirmed - with minister for independence axed

New First Minister John Swinney's cabinet was confirmed his cabinet in full tonight with the role of independence minister axed.

Former Minister of Independence Jamie Hepburn is now moving into new role as Minister of Parliamentary Business

Consisting of 11 Cabinet Secretaries, including the First Minister, the Scottish Cabinet will be supported by 14 Ministers. This reduces the size of the Scottish Government by four since the start of the year.

Swinney's full cabinet consists of the roles below:

First Minister John Swinney

Minister for Parliamentary Business Jamie Hepburn

Deputy First Minister and Cabinet Secretary for Economy and Gaelic Kate Forbes

Minister for Business Richard Lochhead

Minister for Employment and Investment Tom Arthur

Cabinet Secretary for Finance and Local Government Shona Robison

Minister for Public Finance Ivan McKee

Cabinet Secretary for Education and Skills Jenny Gilruth

Minister for Children, Young People and The Promise Natalie Don

Minister for Higher and Further Education; and Minister for Veterans Graeme Dey

Cabinet Secretary for Justice and Home Affairs Angela Constance

Minister for Victims and Community Safety Siobhian Brown

Cabinet Secretary for Net Zero and Energy Màiri McAllan

Minister for Climate Action Gillian Martin

Cabinet Secretary for Transport Fiona Hyslop

Minister for Agriculture and Connectivity Jim Fairlie (reporting jointly to the Cabinet Secretary for Rural Affairs, Land Reform and Islands)

Cabinet Secretary for Health and Social Care Neil Gray

Minister for Public Health and Women's Health Jenni Minto

Minister for Social Care, Mental Wellbeing and Sport Maree Todd

Minister for Drugs and Alcohol Policy Christina McKelvie

Cabinet Secretary for Social Justice Shirley-Anne Somerville

Minister for Equalities Kaukab Stewart

Minister for Housing Paul McLennan

Cabinet Secretary for Constitution, External Affairs and Culture Angus Robertson

Cabinet Secretary for Rural Affairs, Land Reform and Islands Mairi Gougeon

Minister for Agriculture and Connectivity Jim Fairlie (reporting jointly to the Cabinet Secretary for Transport)

Don't miss the latest news from around Scotland and beyond - Sign up to our daily newsletter here.