Lawrence Shankland wins Premiership POTY as Hearts star beats off Celtic and Rangers competition for gong

Firing Lawrence Shankland has been named the PFA Scotland Premiership Player of the Year at Sunday night's awards ceremony.

The four nominees were announced last week with Celtic star Matt O'Riley joining Rangers pair James Tavernier and Jack Butland as well as Premiership top scorer Shankland on the list. O'Riley's nomination came after a stunning campaign under Brendan Rodgers. He's rampaged into double figures in both goals and assists having stepped up to the plate as a pivotal player for the defending Premiership champions - who currently lead the division.

Challengers Rangers had two representatives with skipper Tavernier and keeper Jack Butland - who scooped a double at the club's own awards night last Sunday. And Hearts' Shankland rounded off the four, with the Scotland star still within touching distance of being crowned the top scorer in Scotland this season. In the end it was Shankland who took it home as he looks to add to his 28 goals in the Jambos' closing few games.

Elsewhere Falkirk Invincible John McGlynn crowned a sensational season by landing the manager of the year award. The League One winner was voted tops by the Managers and Coaches Association after the Bairns signed off the season in style by storming back from two down to Alloa on Saturday to secure a 2-2 draw and complete an incredible unbeaten campaign.

McGlynn – who also won the award when Raith boss in 2011 – managed to pip Kilmarnock gaffer Derek McInnes and Dundee’s Tony Docherty to the award after his record breaking season.

In League Two, defender Gregor Buchanan claimed the gong after leading Stenhousemuir to the title in style. Partick Thistle hero Brian Graham capped a remarkable season by landing the Championship player of the year award – at the age of 36.

The hitman blasted 20 goals to fire the Jags into the Premiership play-offs – and he was also nominated for the SWPL manager of the year trophy for his work with the Thistle women’s team. Rangers’ Jo Potter pipped him for the coaching award but the veteran striker was delighted to bag the players’ crown. In the SWPL, Rachel Rowe was crowned POTY.