Leicester East has first non-Labour win in 37 years and a brand new MP

Shivani Raja will be fighting for to be the next MP for Leicester East
-Credit: (Image: Leicester Conservatives)

The people of Leicester East have chosen a new MP. Shivani Raja candidate for the Conservatives will replace Claudia Webbe as the constituency’s representative in Parliament.

Ms Raja beat out nine other candidates to win the vote, including Ms Webbe herself (and her predecessor in the role Keith Vaz). This means Labour holds the seat/Leicester East will have its first non-Labour MP in more than three decades.

The party secured 14,526 votes. Rajesh Agrawal for Labour came second with 10,100 votes and Zuffar Haq for the Liberal Democrats third with 6,329 votes. Turnout was 61 per cent.

READ MORE: Live Leicester and Leicestershire General Election 2024 news and results

The results of the 2024 General Election in Leicester East

Malihah Adam, Independent – 974

Nags Agath, Independent – 703

Rajesh Agrawal, Labour – 10,100

Zuffar Haq, Liberal Democrats – 6,329

Mags Lewis, Green Party – 2,143

Khandu Patel, Independent – 115

Shivani Raja, Conservative Party – 14,526

Raj Solanki, Reform UK – 2,611

Keith Vaz, One Leicester – 3,681

Claudia Webbe, Independent – 5,532

You can follow all the key election night events and news from the counts themselves as they happen via our live blog.