Marshall spring faculty meeting celebrates award recipients

Apr. 22—HUNTINGTON — Marshall University faculty were recognized during the university's spring general faculty meeting in the Joan C. Edwards Performing Arts Center on the Huntington campus.

Three earned Distinguished Service Awards. They are:

—Dr. Keith Beard, professor of psychology, College of Liberal Arts;

—Dr. Wendell Dobbs, professor of music, College of Arts & Media;

—Dr. Kelli Williams, professor of dietetics, College of Health Professions.

To qualify for Distinguished Service Awards, individuals must have at least 20 years of service at Marshall University, a record of distinguished service to the university and/or college and a record of distinguished teaching as evidenced by peer, administrative and/or student evaluations. The Distinguished Service Award winners will receive $1,000.

Also recognized at the meeting were the following individuals who were honored with six separate awards. They are:

—Charles E. Hedrick Outstanding Faculty Award: Dr. Laura Michele Diener, professor of history, College of Liberal Arts;

—Marshall and Shirley Reynolds Outstanding Teacher Award: Dr. Laura McCunn-Jordan, professor of chemistry, College of Science;

—Pickens-Queen Teacher Award: Dr. Andrew Morelock, assistant professor of political science; Dr. Leslie-Dawn Quick, assistant professor of criminal justice, criminology and forensics science; and Dr. Julie Snyder-Yuly, assistant professor of communication studies;

—Council of Chairs Award for Excellence in Teaching: Matthew Smith, assistant professor of art and design, College of Arts & Media.

Three faculty members were honored with the Distinguished Artists and Scholars Award. To be eligible for this award, faculty members must either be tenured or hold tenure-track appointments. The purpose of the award is to recognize distinction in the fields of artistic and scholarly activity on the part of the Marshall faculty. The senior recipients receive $2,000 each and the junior recipient receives $1,000.

The senior recipient for Arts, Social Sciences, Humanities, Education & Business is Sarah McDermott, an associate professor in the School of Art and Design. Also recognized as the Senior Recipient for Science & Technology was Dr. Rosalynn Quinones and associate professor in the department of Chemistry. The Marshall University Distinguished Arts & Scholars Award Junior Recipient in all fields was Dr. Rozzbeh (Ross) Salary, an assistant professor in the Weisberg Department of Mechanical & Industrial Engineering.

Yvonne Skoretz and Robert Deal were recognized with the John and Frances Rucker Graduate Advisor of the Year award, which acknowledges the contributions of Marshall's outstanding graduate advisors.

Dr. Meghan Hancock, an assistant professor in the Department of English, was selected for the Hedrick Faculty Teaching Fellowship Award.