Mira Sorvino 'hurt and shocked' dad Paul, star of Goodfellas, not included in Oscars in memoriam

Mira Sorvino has shared how "hurt and shocked" she felt at her dad not being included in the Oscars in memoriam segment.

Ms Sorvino took to social media to express her disappointment that her father, Paul Sorvino, star of the 1990 gangster hit Goodfellas, who passed away in July last year, was omitted.

In her Instagram post, she said how "incredibly hurt and shocked that [her] father's lifelong, irreplaceable, enormous contribution to the world of cinema was overlooked by whoever made that list".

She added how "unique and incredible he was" and was dismayed at the Academy's omission of the late actor and hoped it "does something to put this right".

Ms Sorvino, who won an Oscar for best supporting actress in Woody Allen's 1995 comedy, Mighty Aphrodite, shared a clip of the night she won the award.

In it, Paul Sorvino, who was never nominated for an award, broke down in tears as his daughter collected the award and said: "When you give me this award you honour my father...who has taught me everything about acting. I love you very much dad."

She added: "On this Oscars night I am so happy for all of the nominees and the winners, but I am also moved in a thousand different ways when I think of the night I got to share my Academy Award with my Dad, the very great actor Paul Sorvino, who was never nominated."

Ms Sorvino's post also mentioned how "several other incredible artists" were left out of the in memoriam section.

Anne Heche, who starred in I Know What You Did Last Summer and Psycho, and died at the age of 53 after a car crash, was also omitted, as well as Tom Sizemore, who died of a brain aneurysm at 61.

Notably, Charlbi Dean, who featured in the Oscar-nominated film for best picture, Triangle of Sadness, and died at the age of 32, was not part of the tribute segment.

Many tweeted their frustrations at the omissions, including actress Lydia Cornell.

Those included in the segment included Olivia Newton-John, Raquel Welch, Robbie Coltrane, composer Burt Bacharach, Jean-Luc Godard and past Academy President Walter Mirisch.